"Somewhere" 2004-02-16 - 2:13 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

so I had a Grunge Day today

it sounds stupid as hell, I know

but if Enid from Ghost World can have a Punk Day I can have a Grunge Day

I didn't shower or shave and wore combat boots and flannel

I tried to slick my hair back like Layne did when he cut his hair short; but mine of course looked like crap

I sat around listening to grunge albums and reading all the House of Secrets issues I have

I think it was kind of appropriate that I finished the last one just as "Killer is Me" by Alice in Chains was finishing

but in all my listenings to Ima Robot and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs lately

I'd forgotten how good Soundgarden and Alice in Chains are

I was listening to Tripod

[their 3rd album (Sap and Jar of Flies were EPs); technically it's self-titled, but it'll always be Tripod to me]

and God Am came on and I could just feel it in my blood

it was like a little shot of the feeling I get listening to the Salival version of Pushit

the whole reason I listen to music to begin with

it was beautiful

a kinda deep revelation came to me earlier

not for the first time, but it came back with a punch at least

something to give this entry some depth

but I've lost it again

or at least the will to explain it

I don't know

I've been on the verge of getting sick since last night

and really, I suppose it's better than actually getting sick

but it's starting to piss me off

I'm never eating at Whataburger again

they should be called "Whatafuckingawfulburger"

whatever

Adios Amigos

**edit**

well, it's 5 AM and I'm not asleep; so here's a quiz I took a long ass time ago

go here for the original

---> name: Brett Stickroth

---> birthdate: October 12th, 1984

---> birthplace: Toledo, Ohio

---> current location: Tucson, AZ

---> hair color: dirty blonde

---> righty or lefty: righty

---> zodiac sign: Libra

---> innie or outtie: innie

// series two - describe

---> your heritage: German/Polish

---> the shoes you wore today: combat boots

---> your hair: short but thick

---> your eyes: Blue

---> your weakness: well see, my mom dipped me into this river that made me invincible; but she held me by the heel...

---> your fears: not counting phoebias I would say debilitation and the loss of my loved ones

---> your perfect pizza: Meat Lover's

// series three - what is

---> your most overused phrase on aolaim: interesting

---> your thoughts first waking up: "fuck... I'm awake"

---> the first feature you notice in the opposite (or same) sex: I wish I could say something un-shallow like 'personality'; but it's hard to notice someone's personality from fifty feet away when you first see them. So with that in mind, I'm going to say: weight.

---> your best physical features: my big sideburns

---> your usual bedtime: around 2-3 AM

---> your greatest accomplishment: learning to play more than one instrument

---> your best memory: I don't know; nothing's really sticking out at me that I would go so far as to call my "best memory". Everything I think of has some kind of downside to it in retrospect.

// series four - do you

---> smoke: cigarettes

---> cuss: like a character in a Quentin Tarantino movie

---> sing well: I believe so

---> take a shower everyday: I'm starting to

---> want to go to college: maybe

---> like high school: no, no I did not

---> want to get married: yes

---> type with your fingers on the right keys: "right keys" is a subjective standard, but if you mean "home keys", then yes

---> believe in yourself: occassionaly

---> get motion sickness: no

---> think you're attractive: only if the person has really shitty taste in men

---> think you're a health freak: not at all

---> get along with your parents: mostly

---> like thunderstorms: sometimes

---> play an instrument: guitar and bass guitar

// series five - in the past month, did/have you

---> drank alcohol: no

---> smoke(d): yes

---> done a drug: no

---> made out: no

---> go on a date: no

---> go to the mall?: surprisingly, I don't think I have...

---> been on stage: no

---> been dumped: no

---> gone skating: no

---> made homemade cookies: no

---> been in love: no ...damnit

---> gone skinny dipping: no

---> dyed your hair: no

---> stolen anything: no

---> played a game that required removal of clothing?: no

---> if so, was it mixed company: yes, yes it was

---> been trashed or extremely intoxicated: no

--> been caught "doing something": no

---> been called a tease: not to my face

---> gotten beaten up: no

---> shoplifted: no

---> if so, did you get caught: yes, and they chopped off my hands...

---> changed who you were to fit in: no

// series seven - the future

---> age you hope to be married: late twenties maybe

---> numbers and names of children: well, I assume my wife will have some say in it; but I'm thinking one-three. boys names: Shannon, Layne, Ian. girls names: Alice, Faith, Jessica

---> describe your dream wedding: something that invovles a shark-tank; I can't imagine what, but as long as there's a shark-tank, it's a dream come true

---> what age do you want to die: I don't know; at the moment I'm hoping for some kind of rockstar death in my late twenties

---> what do you want to be when you grow up: rock star

---> what country would you most like to visit: Japan

--> current clothes: pajama pants, Misfits t-shirt

---> current mood: bored

---> current taste: mouth[?]

---> current hair: just kinda sitting there

---> current annoyance: insomnia

---> current smell: I've grown so accustomed to the smell of my room I don't even notice it; it just seems kind of 'default' at this point

---> current thing you ought to be doing: sleeping

---> current desktop picture: Ian Curtis of Joy Division

---> current favorite groups: Alice in Chains and Joy Division

---> current book: Dracula by Bram Stoker

--->Current dvd in player: I think it's empty right now, and I'm too lazy to check

---> current worry: finding a job; getting lyrics written for a few songs

---> current crush: if anyone probably Davey Havok from AFI

so yeah; I'm not any more tired than when I started

damnit

Sweet Dreams [hopefully]