"The Art of Drowning" 2004-02-15 - 4:59 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

so today was Valentine's Day

as I'm sure you've all heard

meh

I didn't get as depressed as I usually do on Valentine's Day

my mind was more occupied between mind-numbing boredom and the fading rage at my bandmate

I couldn't even watch tv because today is the day all the stations play sappy movies

and I don't hate romantic movies in general

but they play crappy ones

but I mention this only to say that both NBC and USA played Law & Order: Special Victims Unit today

a show about sex crimes on a holiday celebrating romance

it's bloody brilliant

so then I watched tv

but mostly I just sat around bored

I got AFI's 'The Art of Drowning' today

which is excellent

but as I listened to it; I realized that my band sounds more like AFI than the bands I was thinking we sounded like

it's like a kind of equation

for example; the Murderdolls can be broken down as such:

if Glen Danzig and Billy Corrigan were able to somehow have a child,

with Billy's voice and Danzig's creative ideas

[except, y'know, crappy]

and that child went on to front White Zombie instead of Rob Zombie

[except, y'know, crappy]

then you would get the Murderdolls

[which are, y'know, crappy]

my band can be broken down like this:

if Paul Banks of Interpol had somehow become the frontman for AFI instead of Davey Havok

[and their bassist was a douchebag; but that's neither here nor there...]

and desperately tried to sound like Ian Curtis of Joy Division when he wrote his lyrics

then you would get the Remaining

and yes, I thought that whole sequence up earlier and waited all day to write it down in here

because I'm a very pathetic person with a very pathetic life

and do you know what the saddest part is?

this is the highlight of my day

Oh Somebody Kill Me Please

Adios Amigos