"Hometown" 2010-11-23 - 5:04 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I miss Silent Hill.

I don't know how to explain it.

Yes, I own all the games, and at any time I can plug in my PS2 and have access to the entirety of the series.

Well, I guess except for Shattered Memories, I still don't have that.

But that's not the point.

There's an aesthetic to those games, an atmosphere, an overriding fucking feeling that I got from those games, that made me fall in love with them.

I have some of the soundtracks on my computer, and when I listen to them; I pine for that feeling like listening to a song about your hometown probably makes you feel;

those of you who've moved away.

I don't have a hometown, not really. I mean, I guess I was born in Toledo, but the only place that ever felt like home in that place got sold a long time ago. Even if I were to go back it wouldn't be the same.

But that's beside the point too.

I don't really think Silent Hill is my "hometown" or anything.

But I miss that feel.

I don't get it playing the games anymore.

I get whiffs of it listening to the soundtrack.

Am I really becoming that jaded?

Was it a "time and place" thing I'll never get back?

God knows the new games they're making don't do it.

It sounds bizarre, but those games touched me the way music touches me.

And, it triggered something.

Some emotional chain-reaction that just doesn't fire anymore.

Maybe because it's not new, I've seen it before, and there's no new stimuli.

But God...

Yes, it's a videogame series.

But there was something to it, something that struck a chord in me; that I couldn't expect anyone else to understand.

And it's... just gone now.

It is just a videogame series to me now.

That's the problem.

I want to see that place again.

Our special place.