"Needle In The Camel's Eye" 2004-06-09 - 3:27 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

another day went by today

as I'm sure you've all realized

things are pretty alright

went to Wal-Mart; and I'm not eligible to reapply until the 19th

that sucks

I made the mistake of putting actual hours I was available on my application instead of just "open availability"; and they won't even look at it

and I can't even change that; I just have to wait until I'm eligible to reapply

I mean, I don't have open availability

I'm in two bands; I've got other shit to do

but what choice do I have?

they won't even look at it unless it has open availability

bastards

gah

my (state)tax refund check came today

for $36

not a lot of money; but $36 more than I had before it came, which is always nice

what also came was the Velvet Goldmine soundtrack

which really and truly rocks

it turns out Thom Yorke from Radiohead did the vocals for like, half of the Brian Slade/Venus In Furs songs

I had no idea

he sings them so low[pitch-wise, not volume] that it sounds pretty much nothing like his usual stuff;

but it sounds really good

so that's interesting

I also talked to Ruben today

and my "big decision" that I bitched about last time is indeed out of my hands

but I think Ruben is purposely excluding me

I talked to him on the phone, and he never even mentioned it; until I brought it up when he was about to hang up

he said that he was just going to see The Yeah Yeah Yeahs; and since he'd already seen them he might just go to his home town instead

and I'm not going along for that; for obvious reasons

so I guess I'm not going

but this begs the question:

did Sara get the info wrong, and it was just The Yeah Yeah Yeahs;

or is Ruben lying to me and purposely not telling me the whole story

because I know that if it really was The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The Killers, and Stellastarr*; Ruben would be just as psyched as me to go

and he knows I like those bands as much if not more than he does, so he would've told me

unless he doesn't want me to go

I don't know

my paranoia knows no bounds

anyway

Ruben cancelled Remaining practice; and since we[The Hotline]'re having a party/sort-of-show/something on friday, we decided to practice

but Sara went to see A Perfect Circle

[which I wanted to go to too; but I figured the tickets would be either sold out or too expensive, too bad I found out too late that I was wrong on both counts]

so just Gabby and I practiced

we got the music to another song put together, and got a little more practice in for ourselves

Sara's really gonna have to work her ass off on thursday to get all the lyrics up to speed

in addition to the new song we wrote tonight; I don't think she had set lyrics to our next most recent song either

so thursday and the time friday before the party/sort-of-show/whatever is going to be a lot of work

but tomorrow I'm supposed to get together with my friends; with plans to rent a horror movie[sweet]

so here's hoping that works out

now I'm off to try and get to sleep before dawn for a change

Adios Amigos