"A Warm Place" 2004-04-27 - 2:23 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

good news everyone,

I'll have a job by the end of the week

..and there was much rejoicing

I'm trying to get my job back at Wal-Mart, for one

which may or may not happen

I'll know on thursday

[of course, there's always the possibility they'll just tell me: "come in for an interview and we'll go from there"; which is probably what will happen]

but if I don't get the job;

then I have a job at this gas station that just opened near my house

the pay is considerably lower

and the hours are only part time

but it beats being unemployed

so I would much rather have the job at Wal-Mart; but if I don't get it I have a job at the gas station

so me = employed

yay

now I've only got about six or seven other problems-I-always-bitch-about to solve

in other news,

I'm having the hardest time in the world thinking of a title for that comic concept I thought of the other night

usually I like to use song titles for comics; since I don't usually go the super-hero route

but I can't find one that fits this concept

so I'll explain it, and hopefully one of you can help me and won't be a bastard and steal it

I'm going to be a little vague, but:

this kid's parents are members of this satanic cult, and he's born into it; and when he's 13 they sacrifice his soul to the devil. But he survives; he goes to an institution for six years, and then this demon comes and tells him that since he now lacks a soul, he's no longer human, but a demon. So he finds out he has these demonic powers, and goes on a quest for revenge against his parents/the cult and the demon that actually ate his soul.

fun for the whole family, no?

so I can't think of a title for it to save my life; and I've browsed through the song catalogues of a bunch of different bands from The Ramones to In Flames

I'm looking for something that reflects the fact that he has no soul, and/or the whole hell/demons aspect of it

drop me a note if you've got any suggestions

I'm tempted to just pretend he's a superhero anyway and call it "Hollow Man";

but that was already the title of a crappy movie

I was thinking about it yesterday; and honestly I'd call it "Hell Boy" if it wasn't already taken

speaking of which, I finally got around to seeing Hellboy tonight

it was decent

like I mentioned before, I never really read Hellboy; but the other day I read some of the book that follows the one they based the movie on in a store

and I read enough of it to know that they botched the continuity quite a bit

but oh well

I kept getting distracted watching it, though

see; when I was younger, I used to read fantasy and sci-fi novels

and it wasn't enough for me to just read about others doing stuff,

I would always imagine myself as a character in the book; and imagine what "I" was doing along with the characters as I read it

...I was a weird little kid

I haven't done it in years

but as I was watching Hellboy tonight, I found myself doing that along with the movie

it kept distracting me from watching the actual movie

so that might have taken some of the wind out of its sails

I don't know

I keep thinking I have more to say, but I can't think of it

oh well

I'm just going to put this crappy entry to bed, and call it a night

Adios Amigos