"Black Tongue" 2004-03-06 - 4:17 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

"'cause what America doesn't know about Dave Chapelle is he is a Yahtzee playin' motherfucker! Clackity-clackity-clackity!"

not much happening

went out and put up "Drummer Wanted" flyers today

plans to hang out with Steph tomorrow

completely wasted practice yesterday trying to record Seven Nation Army

but it sounded attrocious so we deleted the files and I broke the CD we burned it to

so that was a craptacular waste of time

anyway, I was flipping channels today and caught the Yeah Yeah Yeahs on MTV

I realized that I'm going to see them in just four days; and pissed all over my couch in joy

am I kidding?

you don't know

I'm kinda nervous about it though

my stomach has been acting up lately

and the fact that I'm already a little worried doesn't bode well

gah

the fact that Stephanie has another show tomorrow has really made me antsy to get my band going

I want a drummer bad so we can start playing shows

so my friends can be coming to see my shows

yeah, that's kinda horrible

but it's not like I don't want Stephanie to do her shows or that when I'm at her shows all I'm thinking is: "damnit, they should be watching me!" or anything

I just want to have shows that my friends can come to and have a good time at too

of course when my band starts playing shows my friends will probably be too busy to show up

wow; this is turning real dark and hateful real quick

I love you guys!

anyway,

if I were a girl; I would start an all-girl punk band called 'The Lizzies'

I'm not sure if anyone's done it yet(which is a little surprising to me); but even if anyone had, I would do it anyway

I would copyright the name so they couldn't sue even if they had it first

because I love the Warriors

[the Lizzies are an all-girl gang in the movie]

I don't know

I guess I'll wait until tomorrow and hope my stomach can just relax and act normal again

Adios from Brett "my couch smells like piss" Smith

P.S. - just for the fuck of it:

your life has just become a movie. fill in the songs that would play during the following:

opening credits: Heroin by The Velvet Underground

party scene: Black Tongue by The Yeah Yeah Yeahs

falling in love scene: Bizarre Love Triangle by New Order

love love scene: My Coco by Stellastarr*

after a break-up driving scene: The Fragile by Nine Inch Nails

driving to make-up the break-up scene: What Difference Does It Make? by The Smiths

plain old driving scene: Story of My Life by Social Distortion

chase scene: Reptilia by The Strokes

fight scene: I Get Along by The Libertines

funeral scene: Atmosphere by Joy Division

closing credits: The Man Who Was Too Loud by Frank Black & The Catholics

*-[what are you looking down here for? the asterisk is part of their name]