"Lust for Life" 2004-03-07 - 3:34 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

"That's the Queerwig; it crawls into the ears of sleeping children and turns them into gay teens."

today was interesting, to say the least

first I went over to Stephanie's where she, Robyn, and I watched the Digimon Movie

I didn't particularly want to

(I've avoided Digimon entirely because it's a very blatant rip-off of Pokemon in an attempt to cash in on what a craze the 'collectible monsters' fad was and still is)

but I was surprised

it actually had a good plot by any standards

not just "for a crappy Pokemon knock-off" standards

it surprised me

Stephanie also gave me my Christmas present finally

Shaft In Africa; which is bad-ass

Shaft is the best, that's all there is to it

but also the FLCL soundtrack

which is good, of course

but I'm very dissapointed; because my absolute favorite song wasn't on there

it's this one track they only play in the last episode

where even though they're singing in Japanese I swear to God during the chorus the guy is singing: "I think I can" over and over; louder and louder

and it's just the most soul-stirring, "overcoming impossible odds"-type track I've ever heard

and I was really anticipating the soundtrack for that track specifcally

but it's not on there

not as a hidden track or anything

I feel like Butch at the end of Pulp Fiction:

"she could've taken all the other shit and burned it; all I cared about was the fucking watch!"

with the watch being that track and the 'other shit' being the other songs

ok, so I'm not that upset

and the other songs are fantastic

but I really wanted that song

Goddamnit

anyway,

after that we went to Stephanie's drag show

and the night was really weird

it kept bouncing back and forth between "no fun" and "lots of fun" repeatedly

it was bizarre

I got Carlos good, though

Carlos doesn't hang around with us that much, but when he does it's mostly at Stephanie's shows

and he and I have a running gag that we're lovers

and so when he was leaving we were standing in front of the club surrounded by a shitload of legitamitely gay people

and he says: "I'm going to go wander the streets alone" or something

and I said: "well don't pick up anyone dirty."

he thought for a second and then said: "that's gonna be tough."

then he started to walk away and added: "I'm not making any promises."

so; surrounded by people who were actually gay, may I remind you, I yelled after him(even though he wasn't really far enough away to justify yelling as loud as I did): "I better not catch anything from you!"

And he stopped and turned around and stared at me with that "you bastard" amused-but-pissed look for much longer than I expected him to

for a second I thought he was actually pissed

and meanwhile practically the whole crowd in front of the club stopped talking and stared at the two of us

who were staring at eachother smiling before he finally turned and left

it was excellent

I just wish I could've done a goofy voice or acted serious or something

but it was still pretty good

so after that we went to a resteraunt in a large, freakish-looking group

and there I faced the problem I always have whenever my friends get together, which is:

I enjoy getting together with a group of my friends, because we always do fun things like that

but whenever I'm in a large group; people pair-up and the group fragments into smaller groups who talk amongst themselves

and 9 times out of 10 I'm left as the odd man out; walking or sitting by myself and getting gradually more depressed as the night goes on

tonight I had Robyn

but the two of us were both left alone as the odd pair out

so I don't know

like I said, lots of shifting between 'fun' and 'no fun'

once I got home I wrote the second part of that song Ruben wanted me to write

well, the guitar anyway

I need to get the bass done and then the lyrics for all of it

but the guitar is done for both parts

I'm pretty proud of it

and I don't know why but this song is filled with anti-Ruben sentiment

like, I want to write the basslines for both parts so that if we ever break-up; he can't have the song that he wanted me to write for him

it'll be totally mine

and then since he's always bitching about the songs being too long; I followed Interpol's lead and made the song real long

both parts together clock in at roughly 8 minutes

heh heh

I don't know why it's like that

but it is

whatever

I'm going to see the Yeah Yeah Yeahs in 3 days!

Adios Amigos