"The Critic" 2004-01-11 - 3:43 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

***Disclaimer***

this entry is pretty much just me reviewing Bubba Ho-Tep as well as a few things I bought today. So unless you actually find my views on things entertaining you might as well skip this. There's no real substance

****************

ok, so Bubba Ho-Tep was a fucking awesome movie

it was astoundingly well-made

the directing was excellent

but moreso I was impressed at how it straddled three genres with excellent balance

first, I should say that Bruce Campbell doesn't play an Elvis Impersonator

he plays Elvis

the story is that Elvis got tired of being famous and what that had done to his life; so he switched places with the best Elvis Impersonator in the country: Sebastian Haff

so it was Sebastian Haff who died; and the real Elvis was living as Sebastian Haff, going around impersonating himself

but one time on stage he broke his hip and fell off the stage, and went into a coma for a long time

and when he came out he stopped pretending to be Sebastian Haff and just admitted to being Elvis

but everyone thought that the fall/coma had just made him crazy

and it would've been cool if they'd left it a bit more ambiguous and left the question up to you if he was actually Elvis or he was actually crazy

but they show through flashbacks that he actually is Elvis

and that's not vital to the plot so I don't think I really spoiled anything

but a lot of good scenes come from him sitting in the nursing home talking about "where has my life gone?" and how worthless his life seems now that he's just an old man in a nursing home that everyone thinks is crazy

that's really well done

and then there's some hilarious comedy

as well as the horror of him facing the mummy

it's an excellent excellent movie, and I recommend everyone go see it

I also went to Zia today; where I picked up Black Letter Days by Frank Black and the Catholics

which is also amazingly good

[by contrast I got Sumday by Grandaddy as well. It's not bad but I'm not raving about it. Which is supposed to provide contrast about how much I'm loving everything else.]

I might even go so far as to say I like it more than the Pixies

but it's been a while since I've listened to the Pixies

there's this one song, 'Jane the Queen of Love' which is exceptionally good

also, today I went to R-Galaxy and got the Berserk manga

which was pretty good

it's a lot different than the anime though

for one Guts is a lot more psychotic

but after the way the anime ended you can't really blame him

second Guts is a lot thinner

in the anime he's this big, hulking buff guy that looks like he could actually wield a seven foot long sword

but in the manga he's kinda slim

he still looks cool it just doesn't look as realistic

but yeah, so my day was just going around to different places in a combination of shopping and looking for 'Now Hiring' signs

plus I saw Bubba Ho-Tep, which I highly recommend to everyone

and I spent the whole day with my sister

which kinda sucks

because even though I get along with her sometimes

honestly I don't really like her

I think she's a horrible person; and if we weren't related I would go out of my way to avoid her

for example, on the way home today there was this guy who made a bad move pulling out into traffic

he didn't get hit or anything but he was just parked across two lanes at a stop light

and I made a comment or something; and then my sister goes: 'stupid Mexicans' or something that was real racist

because the guy had Mexican plates

and all the fun I'd been having all day just died in that one moment

I don't know

I hesitate to say I hate her, but I feel a strong dislike for her in general

anyway

my cousin is graduating from his sound engineering college next week

and tomorrow my relatives are having a party for him at my uncle's house

so I'll probably be there all day

but hopefully my friends and I can do something next weekend

Adios Amigos