"Say Hello To The Angels" 2003-12-01 - 2:31 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

well, I got to hang out with my friends tonight

that was a ton of fun

Stephanie and Cainan[Kainan?] bought these Spawn figures that rule

anybody who knows about toys knows that MacFarlane toys are the best

and these are special edition ones that are more like Gothic Art Sculptures rather than toys

they're absolutely beautiful

they both got the same one, and we all came to the group consensus that if they were to put the phrase "Bad-Ass" in the dictionary[assuming it's not already there], there would be a picture of this next to it

I got a little aroused

and Kainan soiled himself

but not at the same time

...'cause that would be weird

I decided that I wanted one too

but then later I was faced with the harsh reality of: "Brett, where the fuck do you expect to fit this thing?"

every flat surface in my room is covered in crap

and every place I could put said crap is overflowing

I just don't have the room for Gothic Art Sculpture

damnit

it also means I probably won't be getting those Mega Man figures either

which is seriously depressing

I mean come on,

they had Zero and Bass and Vile and Proto Man!!

[well, they didn't have Zero at the store, but they have him]

just saying that makes me want to cry knowing that I probably won't get them

*sigh*

I should be asleep right now

but I'm staying up to watch an episode of The Critic I've already seen many many times

because I'm a nerd

I've got work tomorrow, then tuesday off

and then I have a long stretch of working until next monday

which reminds me, my mention of a half-assed idea for a "plan" the other day about taking you guys out for steak the night I get my paycheck will have to be called off

given my hours I'd say our best day to do that would actually be next thursday instead of this one

if you guys were actually interested

anyway, it came to my attention that I need new shoes today

which sucks

because Converse are "in style" now, and having a new pair makes it look like I bought them recently to get in on the trend

gag

wearing my ratty-ass old pair shows my Converse-OG status

[I'm such a jackass. My pair are like a year old; Stephanie has a pair she got from her mom who owned them in the '70s, and those are in better condition than mine]

but what I love about Converse is their downfall

those things are like slippers, and they have like a centimeter of padding on the bottom

and now, having a job where I'm standing on my feet all day has worn the padding down to paper-thinness

which is really uncomfortable

so I have to get a new pair

damnit

this pisses me off extra because I'm the type of guy where someone's like:

"Brett, that [insert item] has worn well beyond it's usefulness; and is held together by duct-tape and bubblegum"

and I say: "I'm fine" and continue to use it

I rather dislike having new anything

but whatever

jumping back to my job[as usual]

I remembered another "tip" for shopping at Wal-Mart

this one should've been #3; but I couldn't remember it at the time

anyway:

"if you're checking out and an item doesn't scan, don't say: "that means it's free". Every single person who has an item that doesn't scan says that. It's not funny but it is annoying enough to make me hate you. If I worked at a resteraunt and you said that I'd spit in your food right in front of you."

moving on:

a girl came to my register the other day

couldn't've been more than 12 or 13

she had on a Black Sabbath t-shirt and was buying a Lynyrd Skynyrd album

and that just gives me hope for the future

also, I was in a great mood because I got off early as hell yesterday

my schedule said 3:45-11:45; but when I got there the supervisor's schedule said 3:45-11:00

but my breaks were still scheduled as if it were 3:45-11:45

[meaning I got a lunch when I shouldn't have]

and since I went to lunch late(which wasn't a big deal for complex reasons); by the time I got back from lunch I only had an hour and a half left

and since one of the cool supervisors was working, he let me take off fifteen minutes early

so I basically got off an hour early

and I don't know why that made me so happy, but it did

especially yesterday

now it doesn't seem so miraculous

whatever

4 Days 'Til Payday