"Heavy" 2003-07-25 - 4:29 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

Awesome night

spent pretty much the whole day at Steph's birthday party

saw surprisingly little of Steph, ironically

I spent most of the day hanging out with Ben, Evan, and Clinton

slowly as the day turned to night and Ben and Evan drifted off, I spent time with Clinton and his pal Kenny

later I spent the first half of the night talking music with Clinton

and the second half talking movies with Kenny

those were the people I gravitated to, but mostly I spent the time just kind've wandering around

but I got Clinton and Kenny's phone numbers, so I think I've made some new friends

while we played pool(horribly, I might add) Clinton let me listen to a recording he had of A Perfect Circle doing Vacant; the song from the Tapeworm project that Maynard is doing with Trent Reznor that's taking fucking forever to come out

I didn't get to hear as much of it as I would have liked, but fuck did it rock

Clinton mentioned his musical influences, which weren't that different from mine

I believe his were: Maynard, David Bowie, Kurt Cobain, and Iggy Pop; and one more that I can't remember

basically mine are(that I told him): Maynard, Layne Staley, Joey Ramone, and J Mascis

but basically that last one's interchangable; if I'm playing guitar it's J Mascis, if I'm playing bass it's Lemmy Kilmeister of Motorhead

[as an aside- whenver I say/type the name "Motorhead" I always hear it in my head in that weird announcer voice they use to announce monster truck shows. Because Motorhead is that bad ass]

and really the fifth one depends on what I'm listening to at the time; it could be David Bowie, Kurt Cobain, or even Jerry Only

but most of the time I'd probably say Ian Curtis of Joy Division

but I digress(in theory)

there was vague talk of starting a band with Clinton

I really hope it works out, 'cause that would kick ass; I really like Clinton

the only problem is that he just sings

and I've discussed in here before my selfish desire to sing

but when I mentioned the fact that "but I want to sing"(in proper Veruca Salt whiny voice) he said "well, we could just have two lead singers"

and at first that kind've bothered me

but over the course of the night the idea has grown on me

it helps that he does hardcore screaming; but I've always kind've lacked in the screaming department, while I'm good at regular singing

so I think we could make it work

as long as he doesn't mind just standing around whilst I sing my part then it's cool with me

it reminds me of the Misfits' Monster Mash video, where Jerry Only is singing and Michale Graves just kind've stands in the back clapping, it's hilarious

speaking of which, the video section on the Misfits' site has been "Coming Soon" ever since they revamped the site; and if anyone has any Misfits videos on their hard-drive, I'll exchange sexual favors in return for one

I really miss them

leave a note if you're interested

anyway, on a semi-related note; I've been listening to heavier music lately

I've really been getting back into White Zombie and The Misfits and things of that nature

I blame Sindy,

both for turning me on(inappropriate pause) to Type O Negative and for just generally making me cheerier so that I don't want to listen to depressing music all the time anymore

but yeah, that's semi-related because Clinton listens to harder music and we'd mesh a bit better now that I'm listening to harder music

plus I'm kind've thinking of going back to bass

I know, I know

I'm sorry too

but with the heavier music comes the admiration of guys like Lemmy and Jerry Only over Kurt Cobain and J Mascis;

but I don't know; that's probably going to change by tomorrow

so I'm not even pretending any of this is definite

anyway, I've got a bit more to say; but I really should get to sleep, so I'll continue(maybe) tomorrow instead of starting up a new topic

Sweet Dreams

P.S. - I know it's over, but I still feel like this should be in my diary somewhere: "Happy Birthday, Steph!"

also, I'm busy tomorrow/today(friday) night; but Saturday I'm going to R-Galaxy, and I'd appreciate it if you're with me Steph but I'm going either way

so hopefully I'll talk to you between now and then or something and we'll get it worked out