"Staind on Layne" 2003-07-24 - 2:43 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

this is a special update, since last night's entry sucked

I just found out that Staind has a song on their new album titled "Layne"

and, as you guessed(and if you didn't get the hell out of my diary)(just kidding, I love my readers) it's a tribute to Layne Staley

at least it looks like it is; it's a tribute to somebody named Layne, and if it's not for him then it's one hell of a coincidence

anyway, the point is that I've always kinda liked Staind; and I have both of their major-label albums

and I had been considering getting their new one, based mainly on the strenght of that "So Far Away" song which I really love

and now that I know they have a song for Layne Staley; I'm definitely getting it, it's just a matter of when I get the money

(I think by the time Steph reads this I'll have already seen her so...)

I could just be a bastard and not give Stephanie her birthday money, and use that for the album

she did say she didn't want anything...

but I wouldn't do that

Swe-

hmm... that wouldn't work

Good Day

I heard

I heard today that you were gone

I had to stop and sing along

The song they played to say goodbye

A song they gave

Give me back life

You'll never fade

The words you gave

My life you saved

Your name was Layne

And on that day a child was born

To someone who you helped along

And helped see through his darkest times

Because of you, this child, she is mine

You'll never fade

The words you gave

My life you saved

Your name was Layne

The words you said

You made me feel like they were all for me

The words you said

They will always be a part of me

The words you said

You made me feel like I was not alone

The words you said

You gave me all the strength to carry on

So to me you'll never fade

Your life you gave

My life you saved

Your name was Layne

-Layne

Staind

honestly it makes me want to cry just reading it

P.S. - I just downloaded part of it; and they actually made it sound like an Alice in Chains song

makes me want to cry even more hearing it