"Faint" 2003-06-20 - 3:24 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I meant to update last night, but I got caught up doing something and just kind've passed out before doing anything else

I finally fixed my damn car yesterday

the problem was with the starter

turns out the bolts that held the thing in(there's two of them and they were different sizes) were put in backwards by us when we installed the new one, and one of them had simply come loose

to make a long story short it wasn't as bad as it could've been; but we ended up doing almost as much work as we would've done if it had been as bad as it could've been

honestly I did most of the work, my dad just kind of lended me a hand

which on one hand is gratifying; but on the other hand that's only because he was too damn lazy to do the work and made me do it instead

but whatever

so that's finally over, and I can do stuff again

but last night, I was so tired, and I got in bed figuring I would pass out rather quickly

but I ended up staying up much longer than I expected because I was debating in my head wether or not to stick with contacts or to go back to glasses

contacts are more convenient in every way except putting them in

that sucks

and after discussing that in my head for some time last night,

I got up this morning, and I went to put them in

and I can get the right one in pretty quick

not instantly, but in like 2 minutes or less

but the left one still takes like 10-15 minutes

and it's sooo frustrating

like I'll go to put it in and it'll hit my eye at the wrong angle and crumple onto my finger(I've got soft lenses),

or I'll get it onto my eye but when I pull my finger away it sticks to my damn finger instead of my eye

or I'll get it onto my eye but it'll be wrinkled and when I blink it'll crumple into my eyelids

and finally, the ultimate injustice

today I got it in there perfectly, and I blinked, and it just fell out

and so I turned into The Hulk, tore the damn thing in half, threw the case and cleaning solution against the wall, starting screaming and cursing, and threw it all into the trash

OK,

obviously I didn't turn into The Hulk

but the rest is true

so I get out of the bathroom cursing about how I fucking hate contacts and tomorrow I'm going to just get new glasses

and my dad is like: "You better dig those out of the trash so you can take them back"

and it's like: "dad, they've been in my eyes all week; now they've been in the trash, and one of them is in two pieces. I don't think they're going to be taking them back."

but I had to get the damn things out of the trash anyway

but after wearing my glasses all day today I've decided that I'm still going to stick with contacts; I'll get them to give me more tomorrow and then I'll just have to learn to calm down and put them in better

but anyway

I'm sure that was a boring story

isn't this the coolest shirt you've ever seen?

as soon as I get $22 together I'm ordering it

and then I need to get some actual David Bowie albums

tonight I watched the crappy Mole People tape

honestly it's not as bad as I remember it being

but that's not to say it's any good in any sense of the word

it really shows just how much my singing has improved since then

even on my bad days I sound better than I did on that tape

ironically, at the time I thought that I sounded good in the songs(you just couldn't hear me) except for God Save the Queen

but watching it now, that's the only song I sound good in(for what you can hear of me, anyway)

except for that "noooooooo fut-ure" part at the end

I still think I sound like shit during that part

but lately I've been kinda missing playing bass

I'm no longer as conflicted about "which one should I play?"

but when I get my PA System; I'm going to put a flyer up at Zia that says "singer and guitarist/bassist" and just let what I play depend on who responds

I've been meaning to write bass parts to the few songs I've written that I want to continue playing

but when I'm in the mood for writing I want to write new stuff

not just go back over older stuff

and plus I've never been able to write stuff on bass

that's why I switched to guitar in the first place

and plus I like bass lines that are kind of individual, like Green Day or Nirvana

and honestly I'm scared that when I try to write bass lines I'm just gonna come up with a shadow of the guitar part, like The Ramones

I mean, don't get me wrong, The Ramones are probably the greatest band of all time; but I want to play more complex stuff

I don't know

and plus I'm scared that if I really start getting into bass again it will turn into an overblown conflict in my head of "which one should I play?"

I'm kinda making it sound overblown now; but honestly it's not

I don't really think about this that much

it's not keeping me up nights

...yet

Sweet Dreams

My Life As A Movie:

opening credits: Chains by The Raveonettes

party scene: Cretin Hop by The Ramones

falling in love scene: Houses of the Holy by Led Zeppelin

love love scene: Pushit by Tool

driving after a break-up scene: Here Today, Gone Tomorrow by Rooney

driving to make-up the break-up scene: Roland by Interpol

plain old driving scene: Everlong (Accoustic Version) by Foo Fighers

chase scene: Faint by Linkin Park

[yeah, I know; but that song sounds like the music from Soul Edge]

fight scene: Linchpin by Fear Factory

funeral scene: Where is My Mind? by The Pixies

closing credits: Just Like Heaven by Dinosaur Jr/Kill The Poor by The Dead Kennedies

['cause Just Like Heaven is a short song, so they'd have to have another one after it]