"Die, Monster, Die" 2003-06-21 - 4:51 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was very interesting

I can't believe it was only yesterday that I tore one of my contacts in half.

it feels like so long ago.

anyway, so first thing I went and got a new lens

and I had them order the special lense for the astigmatism(estigmatism? stigmatism?) in my right eye

the nurse-type guy had a good laugh at my story about losing it and ripping my left lens in half

but honestly I think it might've just been that lens

because they gave me a new one to put in so that they could double-check the perscription

and I got it in right away

so whatever

we'll see what happens when I wake up tomorrow and try and put them in

after that, my mom was on another one of her "we should spend time together" kicks

and it's just like: "Mom, I'm an 18 year old guy. We're not going to be friends."

So that was a lot of awkward silence broken only by nagging questions.

And I think my mom is starting to think I'm gay.

which is extra funny because a year ago I told her I was Bi and then never told her I was only confused

heh heh

anyway

but the upside is that I got her to buy me things

a little lame, I know

but you learn to take what you can get

"Beggars Can't Be Choosers" isn't just an expression,

it's a lifestyle

so I got some spiffy new shades,

a couple new sketchbooks(which I really needed)

and I got her to rent me some movies from Casa Video

I know I've mentioned it in here before, but I'm going to mention it again because I think it's been a long time

Casa Video is the largest video store west of the Mississippi

it's the size of a shopping center, and one building is two stories

they have every movie ever made

it's fantastic

I don't go there that often because it's pretty far downtown

with very few exceptions(the Air Force Base where my doctor used to be; the courthouse for my up-coming Jury Summons; and the army surplus store) it's usually the furthest I ever go downtown

but they have this rack

completely dedicated to old, cheesy horror movies

I can literally spend hours there just looking at the boxes

and I'm completely entertained and thrilled

but anyway, mom finally dragged me away

and once we were home again I promptly called Steph and went to hang out with her and Robyn(and Evan and Mariah)

we watched one of the movies and sat around, nothing really interesting

when I got home I wrote the bass-lines to my songs

I pretty much just shadowed Some Kind of Blues,

but that's a pretty simple song, so I don't feel too bad

Forget Me Not might be kind of wierd, because I couldn't quite get the guitar melody in my head, so I may end up re-writing that anyway

Perfect From Now On I'm actually pretty proud of, but I can't sing and play it, so I guess I'm stuck with guitar for that song anyway

but playing the bass tonight really reminded me what I love about that instrument

I don't know

I desperately don't want to get caught up arguing with myself over which one to play

anyway, it's 5 AM here, so I'm gonna wrap this up

Sweet Dreams