"Space Oddity" 2003-03-31 - 3:11 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

***Note to my therapist***

Christina-I know I told you to look at this, but if you do get around to checking this out, please don't read anymore. I've changed my mind. I don't know why but suddenly the idea of you reading this bothers me. Sorry to give you conflicting messages.

***************************

I've become horribly depressed again

the fleeting happiness of the weekend has left me, and I'm back to feeling down

it's just like: "OK Brett, you're feeling better now? Well time to get going, you've been sitting on your ass for too long!"

my life feels like it's rushing forward and I'm not prepared at all, I'm just being swept up in the tornado of things I *HAVE* to do, and I don't know how to do any of them

I like to do things slowly, make sure I know what I'm doing and then do it slowly and calmly

and now everything's whirling right around and past me

"forwards, not backwards, upwards, not forwards, and always twirling, TWIRLING!"

and I can't seem to focus on anything

like some kind of nightmare

with the worst part being that it's not a nightmare, it's all for real

and everything I'm doing is something that matters, something that will affect the course of my life

and so I'm doing nothing

which is the worst thing I could possibly be doing

I just want some type of advice, or some type of lead, or instructions, or anything

but if I've learned anything from all the scenes on movies, television, and in books about older people trying to give advice to troubled younger people;

their one piece of advice is: "there isn't any type of lead or instructions or anything"

but I mean, I don't even know what I'm doing

it's like someone took me to an empty Hockey rink, put me on the ice in my normal clothes and combat boots, gave me a baseball bat and said: "go play"

it doesn't make any damn sense

[I know it's going to look like I put that "don't read this" thing to my therapist up at the top specifically because I'm about to say something about her, but that's honestly not the case]

the only reason I'm still seeing my therapist is that I'm hoping she could give me some idea of what I'm doing,

and she has helped more than anyone else around me

but I'm still pretty much in the dark

and my parents, who by their very nature are supposed to be the ones guiding me along in this; are the ones pushing me forward the hardest, with no guidance at all

with my new distortion pedal I've come up with a way of playing Space Oddity by David Bowie that sounds really great, and I plan to cover that song with every band I'm in from now on;

but I've fallen in love with that song recently

'cause I just wish I could be like Major Tom,

shut off the radio and just step out into space,

just drift away...

but I can't

I'm on this planet, and I'm stuck here

and I hope the next time I'm out driving some drunk redneck in a big ass pickup truck slams into the driver's side at full force, killing me on impact

I'd pay anything for a quick, painless death

if I had the money I'd put a hit on myself

just be in the mall one day and some guy in a suit walking behind me would whip out a silenced pistol and put me out of my misery

spray blood and gray matter all over some hapless shopper

heh

I don't know

the one hope I used to have was: "someday, things will be better"

and that one light at the end of the tunnel would keep me alive

I've been walking towards that light for eighteen damn years

turns out it's a fucking freight train

"someday" is here, and it's up to me to make things better

but I'm just standing on the ice alone with my baseball bat, wondering what the fuck I'm supposed to be doing

This is Major Tom to Ground Control, I'm Stepping Through the Door...

Sweet Dreams

Ground Control to Major Tom

Ground Control to Major Tom

take your protein pills and put your helmet on

Ground Control to Major Tom

commencing countdown, engines on

check ignition, and may God's Love be with you...

this is Ground Control to Major Tom

you've really made the grade

and the papers want to know who's shirts who wear

now it's time to leave the capsule, if you dare

this is Major Tom to Ground Control

I'm stepping through the door

and I'm floating in the most peculiar way

and the stars look very different today

for here am I, sitting in a tin can

far above the world

Planet Earth is blue, and there's nothing I can do...

though I've past one hundred thousand miles,

I'm feeling very still

and I think my spaceship knows which way to go

tell my wife I love her very much, she knows...

Ground Control to Major Tom, your circuit's dead,

there's something wrong

can you hear me Major Tom?

can you hear me Major Tom?

can you hear me Major Tom?

can you hear me Major Tom...

for here am I, floating 'round my tin can

far above the moon

Planet Earth is blue, and there's nothing I can do...