"In The End pt. 2" 2002-09-03 - 8:07 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

Hey, look at me, I'm breaking a promise. This time I *swear* it'll be my last entry specifically about Silent Hill. So yeah, here's your chance to leave if you wish.

Well, last nite the pills I take to sleep were getting to me, so I didn't really express in full just how much I enjoyed the ending. See, as you enter one of the last rooms; Maria is suspended upside down in some weird rack. James cries out to her, but two Pyramid Heads(which I know I didn't mention before/where you had previously seen only one) show up and they kill her again. James falls to his knees and says something to the effect of: 'I know the truth now. I created you to punish myself, but now I know the truth. I don't need you anymore. Let's end this, now.' Then you have the battle with Pyramid Head/s, where you defeat the bloody things and they kill themselves. I'm kind of sad I didn't get to kill them, but the way they kill themselves is cool, and I take it as my punishment for having the action set on "beginner". Anyway, you run up to the roof of the hotel only to find Maria dressed as Mary. She screams at you when you tell her you don't need her; then she turns into some demon. The action was disgustingly easy, but that was my own fault, and you finally kill her with the Great Knife you get from Pyramid Head. The Great Knife, I might add, is bloody cool. If you've seen Final Fantasy 7 it looks like Cloud's Buster Sword. And the effects for it are cool; rather than just swing a huge hunk of metal like that around; James reacts like a real person. You have to drag it around and you can't run with it, and swinging it takes forever; but it's one hit kill for anything. It's just a really thoughtful effect. Anyway, after you grease Maria; you see Mary one last time; she forgives you; then you and Laura leave town. That's the happy ending. I went online to look for the other endings(and I found them; but I won't relate them here), and eventually got caught up looking into the storyline of Silent Hill 1 to see how things tie together. I played Silent Hill 1 a long time ago, but didn't get far into it because the gameplay sucked. So now I had the opportunity to check out the whole plot. You can find it at www.gamefaqs.com ; if you want the actual plot go to the one that's called "Plot Overview" or something like that. The other one written by "President Evil" is just his theories of what it all means. I read it, and he put *A LOT* of work into it. It took him a year to figure out; unfortunately Silent Hill 2 makes all of his ideas null and void; which sucks for him. It's still well written though. Anyway; from what I can figure out from the two plots; things worked out like this: There was a cult in Silent Hill trying to raise Samael(basically an incarnation of the devil); they sort of succeeded. I would suggest reading the plot overview at the link I posted. Either way, that's what went wrong with Silent Hill; the entire warping of the town occured because of Samael's presence, but Harry(the protagonist of the first game) ruined the cult's plans and killed Samael. Now all that's gone; but Silent Hill is still all twisted, and now draws in tortured souls; which is where James comes in. And while Jame's story doesn't have any relation to the story of the first game; or any resolution to the situation of the town; I still find it better than the story of the first game. But maybe that's just because I didn't play through the first one. Who knows? Either way, a third one is in the works that I can't wait for. After I beat that maybe I'll gather the will to fight through the crappy gameplay and beat the first one as well. Maybe I'll draw different conclusions about it than the people who wrote that faq, and then maybe I'll like it better. Either way I think this should *finally* conclude my ramblings about Silent Hill; until I play the 3rd one that is...