"Nothing Important" 2004-11-21 - 5:04 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was interesting

hung out with Robyn like I wanted to

we had an awesome time

went to IHOP; I forgot how tasty their food was

but Robyn and I had a lot of fun; and we decided to start a club that goes to IHOP every saturday

but by the time I was dropping her off it had turned into a cult that worships Flava Flav

[YEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAH BOOOOOOOOOOOOYYYY!!]

but yeah, we'll see how that goes

earlier today I realized I had a note from Sarah that I hadn't realized I got because it was back when my whole e-mail account got erased

it drudged up a lot of the resentment I still feel from that situation

not at Sarah so much as another individual

I won't get into it because honestly there's no point

I rented Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

and I'd rather talk about that

it's... interesting

the point is to sneak around without being seen; but you can't control the camera, so you can't see five feet in front of you; and the radar from the previous two games is gone

which makes the sneaking as hard as it was in the original Metal Gear back on the original Nintendo

and not hard as in challenging

hard as in "the game isn't advanced enough for me to sneak around effectively"

and considering how awesome the graphics are; and the fact that the first two MGS-s allowed you to sneak effectively

[even if it was by providing you an unrealistic/unfair advantage with the radar to balance out the limitations of the camera/controls]

that's really dissapointing

so despite the fact that the controls are frustrating beyond the capacity for rational thought

it's really too early to pass judgement on the game

but the thing that bugs me the most, though

there's this one guy called "The Pain"*

who somehow controls a huge swarm of hornets

and for those of you who don't know, I have a phobia of bees/wasps/hornets/flying, stinging things

so going into this, I had heard of him; and I was expecting it to be hard

I was expecting to have to mute the sound and just grit my teeth to get through it

but the way the hornets are animated, they look even more evil than normal

and.. it's gonna be harder than I thought

so that kinda sucks

*but in the first Metal Gear Solid; you fought the rogue members of the government founded Fox-Hound unit

and their codenames were all broken down as *specialty* *animal* ie- Revolver Ocelot, Vulcan Raven, Sniper Wolf, etc.

[to be honest it always reminded me of the Mega Man X series; where all the bosses had names like that, but were actual robot animals, so Sting Chameleon was actually a big chameleon and so forth]

in Metal Gear Solid 2 you faced a terrorist unit, who just had weird names

but in Metal Gear Solid 3; which is actually a prequel; you face a military unit that was a precursor to Fox-Hound that defected to the Soviets during the Cold War

and their codenames are all emotions; ie- The Pain, The Fury, The Sorrow

so that's interesting

I just can't wait until I grease that fucker The Pain so I don't have to worry about him and his damn hornets popping up anymore

so yeah,

I'm tired

Adios Amigos