"All The Kids Are Right" 2004-07-18 - 3:12 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

yowza what a night

I suppose you guys want to hear about the show

it went pretty good, actually

in fact, the fact that it happened at all is actually a pretty marvelous ocurrance in my life

usually shit like this that I make a big deal out of it and get all excited for for a week gets cancelled

but tonight happened, so yay for me

and a big shout out to Sindy for the awesome lj post

anyway,

all day I wasn't really that nervous about playing, it was the details of getting set up and getting the video just right and stuff that I was worried about

I was excited to be playing

it went pretty good

I'll cut things up into "upsides" and "downsides"; and let you decide which you want to read first

**UPSIDES**

we did really well; Ruben and Gabby only fucked up noticably once each,

I thought my vocals sounded really shitty, but after the show everyone said they sounded fine, so who knows

there weren't that many people there, but they gave us a pretty good reaction

better than the other band that played, actually

which is kind of sad, since most of them were there to see the other band; and they weren't that bad

and after the show a lot of people were coming up to us and telling us how much we rocked

which is always nice

the guys in the other band looked kinda weird and I expected them to be assholes; but they were actually really cool

they talked about playing together again sometime and I think it would be cool

I hope we do

Edgar[Ruben & Gabby's friend] got some really good camera angles, so I know that when he edits the video together, it's going to look fucking awesome

he said he should have it done by next week

so again: if you want a free copy, my e-mail is [email protected]; mail me your address and I'll mail you a tape of the show

**DOWNSIDES**

well, like I said, I thought my vocals were really crappy, but I guess I won't know for sure until I see the tape

about 3/4s of the way through the show, I broke a string on my guitar

now, I brought Ruben's guitar out there and had it waiting

so in case I did break a string, I could just grab it

but before the show I spent ten minutes trying to tune the damn thing

[both with an electric tuner and by ear]

I finally got it to where I thought it was tuned;

then during the show when I broke the string, I picked it up and it sounded awful

at least we only had two songs left

and I was able to finish the song we were playing with pretty much no ill effects after breaking the string, so it wasn't that big a deal

finally, none of my friends showed up

as usual

the only friend I really have left is Robyn

and her parents wouldn't let her go, which is understandable and I don't blame her for

but Jill had started talking to me again out of the blue earlier this week

I invited her to the show, and she sounded like she wanted to go

I even called her earlier today and she said she was going

but of course: showtime; no Jill

I don't know if it was intentional or if something came up or what

but she wasn't there, and that sucked

so after we played, I had pretty much no one to talk to when Ruben and Gabby were doing other stuff

it was a little depressing

but oh well

everything else went well, so there's really not much to complain about

and although I know the tape will be cool when Edgar gets a chance to edit it

it kinda sucks not being able to review the performance any sooner

but whatever

tonight went really well, all things considered

a little better than I expected

and that's all you can ask for really

well, that's not true

I could ask for her to have been there

but maybe someday

Adios Amigos

you heard that we were great

but now you think we're lame

since you saw the show last night

you hoped that we would rock

knock it up a notch

rockin' was nowhere in sight

and its never good when it goes bad

no one likes to feel like they've been had

and it may be ok

but you won't wear our t-shirts now

anymore

first the band looked wired

then the band looked tired

sluggish and a little slow

he's walking through the set

as drunk as he could get

and what the hell was wrong with Joe?

and you could tell the crowd was fading fast

every song we played looser than the last

and it may be ok

but you won't wear our t-shirts now

all the kids, they hold a grudge

their minds are logged onto the net

and all the kids, they hold a grudge

you've failed them and they won't forget it

all the kids are tired and turn away

its alright to admit

you're all wrong and all the kids are right

you heard that we were great

but now you know we're lame

since you saw the show last night

you hoped that we would rock

you wished that we'd just stop

and finally we said "good night"

when we had returned for the encore

you and half the room had headed for the door

no one wanted more

all the kids, they hold a grudge

their minds are logged onto the net

and all the kids, they hold a grudge

you've failed them and they won't forget it

all the kids, they're tired and turn away

all the kids, they hold a grudge

their minds are logged onto the net

and all the kids, they hold a grudge

you've failed them and they won't forget it

all your cred won't save you from the kids

its alright to admit

you're all wrong and all the kids are right

next!

-All The Kids Are Right

Local H