"Rock Against Ass" 2004-07-13 - 3:13 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

oh my Gawd,

today was really, really awesome

getting ready for the show saturday[but more immediately the dress rehearsels on tuesday & thursday], so I once again set out in search of a pinstripe vest to complete my outfit

sadly, I couldn't find one

but I did make the discovery that I must be a girl

I don't know how I got ahold of this penis

because not only do I enjoy shopping; but if I have any money at all, I can never go home without buying something

today it was this totally awesome black velvet jacket

I don't really think it would be wise to wash it, so to quote Mitch Hedberg:

"this jacket is dry clean only, which means it's dirty"

it looks good now, though

just give me time

anyway

the Killers are coming to town on the 26th, so Ruben and I have been real psyched to go to the show

but then we found out it was this thing called "Freeball 6"; which is an annual free concert held by the local rock station

unfortunately, you can only get tickets through the station

so Ruben's been listening to the station constantly to try and get ahold of tickets

today he called me and told me they were giving them away at this place [comparitively]close to my house

and it was right near the thrift stores I was going to

so I headed down there

and when I got inside I was expecting some kind of KFMA table or someone handing them out or something

but I didn't see it

so I almost just assumed they'd given them all away and left

but just to be sure I walked to the counter and asked one of the employees, and I got tickets

so now, not only am I going; but I'm going for free

suh-weet

the opening act is The Burning Brides

which is cool; because I've heard their song "Heart Full Of Black" on the radio once or twice, and I really like it

but it's also kind of weird just because they were just in town opening for A Perfect Circle

so I don't know why they're back so soon

but I guess it doesn't matter

anyway,

I don't know if I've mentioned it

but when I first joined the Hotline; Sara had a distortion pedal for guitar

which, since she didn't play guitar, she let me use

and when we joined the bands, I kept using it

and I've been using it ever since, to the point where it's really integral to the songs

well, she quit the band, but didn't take it right away

so I was hoping she would just forget and I could keep it by default

['cause I'm a bastard like that]

but then last week she came and took all her shit back, including the pedal

which sucks

but since we need it for the songs, I convinced Ruben and Gabby to give me $20 each; so that I could afford a new one

well, today when I went out to get one; they had this sale at the local music shop

where they were selling this little effects pad for $60, which was the same price I was hoping the pedal would be

so, rather than just get a little pedal with one basic effect

I've now got a mini effects board

which allows me to do even more with the songs; and will allow me even more freedom than that with songs we write in the future

today was a fucking sick day

I even had steak for dinner

my "first day" at Hot Topic was alright as well

I was only there for an hour and half, basically just helping them clean up the store after closing

no big deal

on the drive home I got my car up on two wheels, though

I took a corner too fast and the right wheel hit the curb; so I wound up with my big-ass 80's van up on two wheels for about fifteen seconds

my reaction was a combination of:

"That's right, son! That's how I drive!"

and:

"shit, I probably broke something or other."

in retrospect I'm a little surprised it didn't explode

but either way

later on I tried on the different outfits I'm trying to decide between for the show saturday; and found that not only does the black vest I already have look good with the pinstripe suit; but they all look really good

much better than I expected

if I keep this up, I just might grow some self-confidence yet

and then I had a fun but short conversation with Sindy, and actually talked to Jill again for the first time in a long time, which was cool

I need to talk to Robyn again,

I'll call her tomorrow

but today was a really really good day

usually when I have a day like this something really bad happens at the end, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed

I'll probably die in my sleep or something

but here's hoping this amazing streak of good luck keeps up

Adios Amigos