"The Camera Eye Back-Bite" 2004-02-23 - 3:58 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

first, a few forgotten details about last night:

Billy Zoom(the guitarist) stole the show last night

he was walking around the stage making faces at the audience and saying stuff to the people in the front row

it looked like he had the music so down he could play it in his sleep

it just amazed me how he was playing these awesome solos and conversing with the audience at the same time

then on the drive home, I was doing way over the speed limit

usually I'm pretty careful about that downtown

'cause when I'm coming home from band practice about 80% of the cars on the road at that hour are cops

but last night I wasn't paying attention

but neither was this guy ahead of me

so I'm driving along talking to Robyn, when all of a sudden this motorcycle cop pulls out in front of me with his lights on

and he pulls over the guy in front of me

and if he hadn't been there; that would've been me getting pulled over

it was just so astoundingly lucky

[and by the way Robyn; I think the song that should've been playing while we drove home was "The King of Carrot Flowers pt. 1" by the Nuetral Milk Hotel]

but on to tonight

where I went and saw Tokyo Sex Destruction with Ruben

that was a lot of fun

it was a little depressing, though

since apparently Coheed and Cambria was playing somewhere else in town

while there were three bands playing at Scrappy's

and it worked out that the only people there were the bands; the friends of the local band; Scrappy's employees; and Ruben and I

and what little crowd that amounted to was dead

just standing around during the songs and clapping politely when they were finished

I felt bad for the bands playing

but the show itself was awesome

Robyn will probably beat me for saying so; but I actually enjoyed it more than X

what can I say? I love hyperactive, spastic frontmen

the first thing I thought when Tokyo started playing was: "gee, he dances like Ian Curtis"

["dances" being a relative term]

so that was about a million points

and then he started swinging the mic around like Pelle Almqvist and that did it

Tokyo was absolutely awesome

but the thing is; they don't actually speak english

they're from Spain I think

so they don't really speak english; but all their lyrics are in english

which is kinda their gimmick

so even though they hung out after the show, I didn't get to shower the singer with fan-boy praise like I wanted to

Ruben had a lengthy conversation with the whole band though

so I was happy for him, since he loves those guys

but the next band up was a California band called 'Bullet Train to Vegas'

and they were even better

they weren't as good as far as on-stage antics go; but they sounded better in my opinion

I bought their 7" after the show, and shook their hands

and I should've bought their CD

they said the 7" was "green marble"; but I think it's supposed to be green and the discoloration is a bunch of stains and shit

because the sound quality is absolutely horrible

plus there's only two songs

damnit

oh well, it was only $4

Ruben and I left before the local band came on

since I thought I heard someone say they were hardcore; and I took that as my cue to exit

but since I got home, Comedy Central has rerun the Chappelle's Show with "Charlie Murphy's True Hollywood Story" about Rick James three times

and probably at least once more since I stopped watching tv as well

but I watched it all three of those times

and I laughed harder each time

it's just so fucking funny

"I just walked in, and I heard a voice say: 'CHARLIE MURPHY! BLAOW!'"

and he just punches him right in the face

I about pissed myself the last time I watched it

'cause that's really all my life is now:

rock bands and Chappelle's Show

damn that's sad

oh well, I heard the arcade at the Tucson mall is hiring today

I don't usually go 'cause they have a shitty selection of games and the shooting games are never calibrated properly

but maybe that'll keep me from abusing the key that lets you play games for free you get when you work there

and hopefully I'll get myself a job finally

cross your fingers

Adios Amigos

"What did the five fingers say to the face?"

"What?"

"SLAP!

I'm Rick James, bitch!"