"24 Hours" 2003-10-12 - 3:23 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

holy shit kids; I had one hell of a past few days

and tomorrow is shaping up to rock just as hard

friday was not as good as I'd hoped it would be

the cousin closest to my age

[the one who just got back from the Air Force]

took off and stayed with his friend at his friend's girlfriend's dorm the night I was there

and the youngest cousin went to sleep pretty early

therefore the cousin who's house we were staying at and I were the only ones really up

we went and checked out his school

(he goes to a sound-engineering school)

which was awesome

the studios are fairly booked up solid; but he's got a school project due around Christmas, and assuming I can get a band assmebled and have our shit together by then;

I could be handing out our first album for Christmas gifts

the funny thing is that that's actually a likely possibility

the things that would have to come together to make that happen aren't really a stretch,

and the things that could keep that from happening are kinda big and rather unlikely

so that's very possible

anyway, after that he had to go do a paper-route, so I went to sleep

I woke up without any kind of noise or alarm or anything

I just woke up

much much earlier than I would've at home

and much much earlier than I expected to

I only got 4 hours of sleep

and since everyone had places to go that morning, I pretty much just took off for home

the left-front tire of my van was kinda low, so I stopped at a gas station to fill it up

well, the fucking air-compressor was broken

and it was another instance that just restored my faith in humanity

this guy comes up and asks me if I got a flat

I say "no", and he figures out why the stupid air compressor is broken

I tell him I'll try to go to the next gas station, it'll probably hold out until then

he didn't think so and asked if I had a spare

I didn't think I had one, but he found it under my back bumper

I honestly didn't know it was there

now I could've changed the tire myself

but in a flurry of "do you have this?" questions and the action of putting whatever he was asking for to use

he basically started changing my tire before I knew what was going on

just some guy who was on his way to the State Fair with his family just started working on some anonymous dirty teenager's car for free

that's one of those "wow, humanity may not suck after all" moments

and it was hot too

after the temperature finally started going down; it shot up again today

and it was humid as fuck

I was sweating my ass off just standing there

and this guy worked on my car just out of the goodness of his heart in this hot-ass weather

I was just so stunned I could barely do anything more than stand there and keep my jaw from gaping open

and even though he did change the tire and everything

the biggest thing he really did was find my spare tire for me

and really that could've saved my life

so, wow

anyway

after I got off the expressway back in Tucson; I got stuck behind this retarded 700 year old man who WOULD NOT GO FASTER THAN 25 MPH!

I swear to God I thought I was going to get out of my car, run up to his and brutally murder him.

now, for those of you who know the area, I got stuck behind him basically all the way from IHOP to La Cholla

all that way never going above 25

it's lucky for all involved I don't keep a gun in my car, or he'd be dead and I'd be in jail

anyway

so after that I found a gas station with a working air-compressor and filled up my tires, including the one in my back seat

so I changed that tire

then my dad comes out and says I should rotate my tires

so I had to take the tire off again and change all of them

so after that I changed clothes and such and went to see Kill Bill

I fucking love that movie

if you'll notice, it's now in my profile

it's so fucking good

to paraphrase from my profile: it's everything I love about Anime, Westerns, and Video Games all rolled in to one

and it was amazingly directed

now, Quentin Tarantino's writing has always impressed the pants off me

but his directing was nothing special

I mean, it didn't suck or anything; but it wasn't like M Night Shyamalan either

but this was amazingly directed

throughout all the proceedings I kept getting struck over and over at how artfully done it was

there's this other movie called "Full Metal Jacket", which I've never seen all of;

but at the end there's a shootout with this woman sniper

[which I'm pretty sure inspired Sniper Wolf in the game Metal Gear Solid]

and after she cuts down a good number of the platoon; they wound her

then they go inside, and one of the guys stands over her and shoots her in the face

and one of the other guys says: "Hardcore. Hard-fucking-core."

and that kept echoing through my head while watching Kill Bill

it's based on an anime,

which means: lots of violence

I would say "over-the-top" but it's not really

in a situation where hundreds of people are being cut up with a katana; it tends to get messy

if anything it's probably more on the realistic side than most movies

but whatever

it fucking rocked

at the end you could basically tell it was ending; and she'd only gotten 2 of the 4, and nowhere near Bill

[I don't think I'm blowing anything. The commercials show four people that she's "gotta go through", before Bill; and out of them only Lucy Liu and Vivica A. Fox were doing publicity tours.]

but I was like: "shit, show me all four; I'll sit here for another two or three hours"

it's so good

I'm almost definitely going to see it again

anyway

after that; my relatives started showing up

and since my cousins were still up in Pheonix, it made for a pretty boring time

just my uncles[and one of my cousins who obviously wasn't in Pheonix] sitting around watching football with my dad while my aunts[and a girl cousin] sat in the kitchen with my mom and sister talking about... I don't know

being neither a sports fan nor a girl I was basically alienated and bored as fuck

but the night was saved when my parents decided I would be getting my birthday presents tonight

now, at first I was like: "I didn't get much, but I did get Cemetary Man and Silent Hill 3"

but then I realized that my sister is the one who got me the two Stephen King novels

so I only got Cemetary Man and Silent Hill 3

now; I'm a little torn here

on one hand: I don't like to bitch about material things, it seems so horrendously shallow

and Cemetary Man and Silent Hill 3 are nothing to sneeze at

even with my newfound love of Kill Bill; Cemetary Man is quite simply the greatest movie ever made

and Silent Hill 3 rocks beyond the capacity for rational thought

but on the other hand: I got two fucking things for my birthday!!

the whole week my mom and dad were saying: "oh, we spent a lot of money on you two"

and I can only say that they better have some other fucking presents hidden away

I didn't get any of the thousand or so albums I asked for

and they didn't even splurge and get me that pair of sunglasses that I really wanted

[that was supposed to be irony but it didn't turn out right. The joke was that sunglasses really aren't that expensive; but I guess they actually are. You may be asking yourself why I didn't simply delete it and save space; and the answer is: LOOK OVER THERE!]

I don't know

when I was a kid and I wanted a bunch of action figures and shit that I would play with for a week and then want somehting else; they would get me all kinds of things

but now that I'm older and I'm asking for things that I'll actually use; they're getting me less

it just kinda sucks that I was actually looking forward to this and they only got me two things

I suppose there's worse things to have go wrong, but this was otherwise a very good couple of days

oh yeah, speaking of which

today when I was re-inflating my tires, I went to get the one out of the back of my van, and suddenly the back of one of my hips exploded in pain

I thought I'd been shot

so I kinda fell forward into my van and didn't make any noise

I could barely walk, and I still don't know what the problem is

but I never said so much as "ow";

I just kind've limped until I got home and while I was rotating my tires it faded until only the back of my hip hurts instead of my whole leg

and I don't know why

oh well

I can feel my toes so I'm not worried

but it's not like I was even turned at a funny angle when it happened

I was just standing there and all of a sudden one of my legs doesn't work

stoopid body

so anyway

tomorrow looks like it'll rock

Robyn's on board, as is Jill

we have to wait for Jill to get off work; but it won't be too much longer after dark, which we have to wait for to watch the movies anyway

so excellent

and I don't think Evan reads this anymore: but apparently he called after I'd left for Pheonix yesterday; and no one told me until like 9 tonight

so sorry Evan

it seems like I had even more to say, but I forget it now

so I'll just end it after way too much talking

Sweet Dreams