"X, Man" 2004-02-22 - 3:19 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was odd

I had plans for today,

one of which was calling Stephanie; which I feel bad about not doing

but I got sick in the morning

so I spent all day just waiting for the X show

literally

I didn't do anything

I would sit down and flip channels for five-ten minutes; then get up and check my e-mail; then stand around my room for five minutes

repeat for four hours

I listened to the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' "Pin" over and over

good song

then the X show came, and it rocked

it wasn't the semi-religious experience I was expecting(for some reason)

but it was a lot of fun

I think the reason was that I was hearing all the songs for the first time

like when you go to see a band you know; when you hear a song you like start, it's like: aww yeah

I remember when I went to see Tool, when the bass-line to Sober started I about creamed myself

but hearing all these songs for the first time tonight, they were super-cool but it didn't have the mind-numbing excitement of: "Oh my God, THEY'RE PLAYING ___!!"

but it was still a lot of fun

I got to spend lots of time with Robyn, which I always enjoy

and Chris and Anne were there

Anne pinched my cheek

like those stereotypical aunts in tv shows do

it was weird

**edit-for a much better description of the show, go here**

and now I can't stop thinking about how awesome it's going to be when my friends are coming to see my band play

when we get to be the crappy local band that opens up for the famous headliner

and speaking of my band

we may have a drummer

I'm a little wary though

apparently Ruben posted a "flyer" on an internet message board

and the flyer said "no experience necessary"

so Ruben came to band practice telling me about how some jerkoff had responded: "no experience huh? guess that means 'no future'" and saying he was going to go play with another band because of that

then Ruben comes back and says he talked to that guy again and explained a little better; and now the guy is gonna come practice with us and see how it works out

so...

plus Ruben said he told the guy the bands we cover

and I don't remember if Ruben said that the guy said he doesn't listen to them or doesn't like them

and I guess I don't really mind if he doesn't listen to them

when I first saw Ruben's flyer; I read his influences, and it was just a bunch of bands that I didn't listen to and then Interpol

and Ruben said that this guy had the same kind of reaction

which is kind of cool; since it would be like we all listen to a bunch of bands the others have never heard of

but we found common ground in Interpol strong enough to form a band on

but if the guy said he doesn't like them

we've got problems

I don't think I can play in a band with someone who doesn't like Joy Division or the Ramones

so I'm wary about that

but I guess I'll just have to wait and see

so X was awesome,

and tomorrow night I'm off to see Tokyo Sex Destruction with Ruben

Adios Amigos

P.S. - Chappelle's Show is awesome

"I'm Rick James, bitch!"