"debonair" 2009-10-18 - 4:25 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I said goodbye to a friend of mine for the last time today.

It's not like either of us are dying or something, but he's moving to California.

I don't know if it's because I'm a military brat, or if it's some other issue that was exacerbated by that fact; but I can't keep up with people I don't see everyday.

And I'm not too broken up about this particular friendship. It's been "on life support" for some time, this was just the final nail in the coffin.

It's just making me think: is friendship really so tenuous?

Is it really so easy to lose someone?

I guess it goes back to the military brat thing.

I can't imagine having a friend I've known "since we were kids" or whatever.

At this point M______ is actually my oldest friend. And I've only known him for about four years.

It's completely alien to me that you could know someone your whole life, that they'd have your back; through thick and thin, until you both die.

I don't know, I guess that's not super weird.

But it is really weird to know I'm saying goodbye to someone forever, that it's so easy to sever a friendship when everyone else seems to live and die by that bond.

Chalk that up as one more thing that separates me from everyone else.

though I've past one hundred thousand miles, I'm feeling very still...