"Catching Up" 2005-03-28 - 5:54 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

so yeah, it's been a while since I've updated

I keep meaning to change my layout but I just can't seem to get around to it

I've been so fucking busy lately

working two jobs

playing two gigs this weekend

I've been fucking busy

but the gigs are over now

and my time at my second job came to an end

so I guess I'm back to just being lazy

anyway, where do I start?

let's see

most of the time I wasn't updating was becuase I had nothing to say

so let's skip ahead to Honeybaked

not much happened there

Evan was working there too

and one of the times he was walking by me we got caught in a little "traffic jam" in the kitchen

and in the few seconds we were stuck next to eachother he just goes "I love you" real quiet in this really high voice

and every time I think of it I just laugh my ass off

and I just realized typing that paragraph that there's no real way to describe how he said it, and as such why it was so funny

but take my word for it, it was fucking hilarious

anyway

I also worked with this guy named Chris

he was really cute but he was also straight

so yeah

he was cool, too

we talked a lot for most of the time

made it go by that much easier

I didn't get his number or give him mine, I told him about the show at Skrappy's and he said he would be there

I figured if he came it meant he actually wanted to hang out with me outside of work and I would give him my number then

but he didn't go

oh well

saves me the trouble of pretending to be straight around him

anyway

so then the show at Skrappy's

the show at Skrappy's was terrible but fun

six bands were supposed to show, and we were supposed to go on third

well, only three bands showed(us included)

and we wound up going last again

none of my friends showed, of course

which is common practice at this point

though I am getting pissed at Kevin

but oh well

anyway, the first band was pretty good, I liked them

their on-stage banter was humerous

and one time between songs the bassist jumped off stage to go to the bathroom

and for some reason one other time they spent like, over five minutes between songs

and the drummer jumped off stage and came up to us and was like "enjoying the show?" so that was pretty funny

the second band was some crappy hardcore band

they played like, seven or eight songs

all of which were over five minutes

they took for-ever

so that sucked

and then finally it was our turn

at the beginning of the show there was a handful of people

by the time we were up there were two[plus the kids that always hang out at Skrappy's]

but we played anyway

and we sucked, but it was fun as hell

halfway through our set my guitar went out

and it was either my pedal or the house equipment, I'm not sure which

but it went out

so after much technical difficulties we decided to do one more song, just bass and drums

and I got to be a frontman for one song

I didn't do a very good job[but to be fair it was my first time]

but I had fun

and Kathy really likes us

it's always nice to have the owner of a club as one of your fans

anyway, then came Coconuts on sunday

and if our show at Skrappy's was bad but fun

our show at Coconuts was good but no fun

now, this is where we hit a tangent

basically: I was planning on replacing Ruben

Gabby's earned her place as a true member of The Remaining

which made Ruben's presence not integral to the band

and like, he's always starting fights

he's a crappy bass player

etc., etc.

well, thursday he comes in and tells us: "next month, I'm gonna quit"

which is good because it saves me the trouble of having to fire him

so whatever

we get a better bass player and he's selling us all the equipment and stuff

everything's cool

well, this morning he calls Gabby and I up and decides he's just going to quit now

he refuses to play the show at Coconuts

that was the first bad thing to happen

next, we get there and like, nobody's there

for one

for two: nobody is organizing this at all

there's like two guys our age who helped us set up

but like, Coconuts is a big fucking bar/club type place

Skrappy's was more Goddamned professional and they're just a piddly little youth-club

but anyway

so there was a "battle of the bands" there tonight

we got the gig too late to be in the contest, but we got to be on the outside stage

turns out we were the only band on the outside stage

not only that, but the battle of the bands was going on while we played

so there were literally three people outside watching us play

[but there were only about twelve inside anyway]

so just Gabby and I are up there playing to three people in the parking lot of this shitty bar

and like, the equipment sucked, they didn't have enough

nobody knew what was going on

it was terrible

and maybe the worst part was, we put on a good show

I nailed my vocals pretty good[despite the fact that I could barely hear them]

and without Ruben we only screwed up once

so yeah

Gabby and I were on stage just laughing to eachother at how absurd it was

oh well

after the show I stopped at Zia to put up a flyer for a new bassist and go through the used vinyl rack

I don't know how many times I can say it:

always go through the used vinyl rack at your local record store

I found Black Sabbath: We Sold Our Souls For Rock & Roll, Def Leppard: Pyromania, and Jethro Tull: Aqualung; all on vinyl, and purchased them all for less than $10

[those last two may not do much for my coolness rating; but I'm not here to impress you]

and those were just the ones I purchased

there was a sweet Pat Benatar album and one by Rainbow as well[plus a Judas Priest I've had my eye on for a while]

always check the used vinyl rack

there's gold I tells ya, gold!!

anyway, that's about it

I need sleep now

Sweet Dreams