"Not Even Jail" 2005-02-22 - 5:59 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

it's been a few days since I updated

from a combination of no time to update and nothing to update about

yesterday I had a shitty day at work

[I had to deliver to every house on my route, something that never happens because there's people who only get it on weekends and people who only get it during the week, etc.]

so when I got home I made myself an omelette, which was the first omelette I ever had actually

and had a long hot shower

which was good, because I needed one

and that was about how the last few days of my life went

but today was the Interpol concert

yeah

it was fun[mostly]

I got there late, so I kinda missed the opening act; which was sad 'cause they were really good

they were called Blonde Redhead; and they sounded like a cross between The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Lateralus-era Tool

it was an awesome mix

then Interpol came on

they did most of the good songs off of Antics[Slow Hands; Evil; Not Even Jail; and this other really good one I can't remember the name of]

and most of the good ones off of Turn On The Bright Lights

sadly they didn't play The New

but they did play Hands Away and Roland; which was the song that made me fall in love with Interpol originally, and it fucking rocked live

and then they did Obstacle 1 and PDA for an encore, which were the two songs I wanted to hear the most

I was waiting for Obstacle 1 all night

they also did Say Hello To The Angels and NYC from TOTBL and Next Exit and a couple others from Antics

good show

they're kinda boring on stage, what with the whole new york punk-"too cool for school" stage act

but the music was good

I had higher hopes for Carlos[the bass player] he always seems to be the one to rock out but he stayed pretty New York this time, which was kinda dissapointing

after the show was kinda crappy though

I stayed with Gabby for most of the show and lost Ruben

so I go to my car and wait for Ruben, and he calls me on my cell phone and is like: "dude, I'm with the band, here let me put the guitar player on the phone" so suddenly I hear this other voice go "hello" but by the time I say "hello" back Ruben's back on the phone mumbling drunkenly

next thing I know he's saying "dude, the manager's here; and he's drunk" and next thing I know there's all this screaming and cursing

so I walk over there; and Ruben's standing outside, drunk, of course

and he tells me how he almost got in a fight with the manager and how the manager kicked him off the bus and he almost got in a fight with security

so we hang out for like, ten more minutes

and we almost leave

but then we go back; and when we do, the security guards are telling everyone: "the promoter says everyone has to leave" so they're shooing everyone away

well Ruben decides he wants to see the band again

so he tries to sneak past the security guards

and gets caught

and next thing I know he's arguing with like, three beefy security guys; and they're talking about calling the cops

and I'm trying to pull him away and be like: "Ruben, come on"

but he's not listening or coming; and I'm not gonna try and physically drag him away, then he's just gonna try and fight with me

so I'm trying to talk him down

and he said: "fuck you Brett, you're an asshole too"

so I said: "dude, I don't have money to bail you out if you go to jail" and took off

fuck him; I'm his bandmate, not his babysitter; not even really his friend

last I saw he was still arguing with one of the guys

I guess tomorrow I'll find out if he got his ass kicked or spent the night in jail

but Gabby said he's always doing that

and he is a real asshole when he's drunk; which of course is a lot

so whatever

tomorrow everything will be normal and he'll be talking about how awesome the show was

whatever

I should get to sleep now before I sleep all day again

it seems like when I tried to sleep at night I couldn't get enough sleep; now that I sleep during the day I get too much

between the two I preferred not enough, but with this job there's not much I can do

I guess I'll figure something out, sooner or later...

Sweet Dreams