"In Water" 2005-01-25 - 4:19 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

so yeah, as I mentioned last night, I wrote a song

see, I watched Jacob's Ladder last night

one of my favorite movies

not the least of which because the makers of Silent Hill were heavily inspired by and outright stole from it when they made the first one

but anyway, the ending put me in a really peaceful mood

and I went outside on my roof and it was a beautiful night

a nice full moon and lots of clouds

and I just stayed out there for an hour looking at the sky and smoking

so then I came back in, in that odd mood I was in,

and I started writing a song

I had been meaning to write a song kind of in the vein of Lateralus-era Tool

so I tried doing that

and I think it's one of the best songs I've ever written

it's real dark, though

it actually kinda creeped me out while I was writing it

but last night I wrote it real linear

just a progression of riffs

so today I sat down and I gave it a chorus and a better arrangement

made it a song

and then put lyrics to it

but in doing so, I had to get back into the mood of last night

so I started thinking about Jacob's Ladder again

and whereas last night I was thinking of the ending and the kind of peaceful mood that entails

tonight I just thought about the creepy stuff

so now I'm all paranoid because of that

but it made for a good song

I don't know if Ruben will let it into The Remaining the way it is

but I won't change it

I've already got a few songs written for my "solo project" for whenever I can afford the instruments and stuff to record it all myself

so this might end up in that

but I'm gonna try and get it in The Remaining so I have an opportunity to play it live; because I'm really proud of it

anyway, as far as the lyrics go;

for quite some time I've been meaning to write a song called "In Water"

because one of the endings to Silent Hill 2 is that James drowns himself so that he can be with Mary

and it's called "In Water"

and after I wrote the first two verses I was just like: "hey, this could make a good In Water, in fact, this might be the best opportunity to write that"

so anyway, it's called "In Water" and just in case I don't get the opportunity to post the lyrics at The Remaining's website, I'm going to post them here, because I'm proud of them

so anyway, here they are:

watch the weather change
another season without you
hands are on my back
memories fade through

watch the seasons change
another lifetime without you
hands around my throat
memories bleed through

I still feel your touch
hands dragging me down
I will see you again
the only way I know how

{Chorus}
I'm on my way to you
not much longer
I found the way through
in water

this is the only way
I realize that now
one last thing though, please-
hold my hand on the way down

Chorus

Chorus

-In Water

Me

I'm not crazy about the chorus, so I may end up changing that

and my songs are always kinda up for tweaking if I don't like them

[which I usually don't anymore after I read them over a few times]

but as of tonight, when I wrote them, those are the lyrics to In Water

real updates coming when something happens

Adios Amigos