"Hard To Beat" 2005-01-03 - 2:35 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I finally have something to say!

Something awesome happened today

I don't know if you remember, but some time ago I mentioned that when I was at work, some guy just randomly called me on my lunch break, and talked about combining the band he was in with the band I was in

well... a couple weeks later, ie-today; we meet this guy's band

it was interesting

first I worked all day; which was fun

worked with Kevin and Amie, both of whom I get along with

Stephanie and Cody showed up and said 'hi'

then, I get off work, and go pick up Ruben at the practice room

on the way we got some food; and try like eight times to figure out the exact details of where we're supposed to meet

we end up driving like, 20 minutes north of where I live

which is already 20 minutes north of the practice room

we meet in this parking lot of this radio shack or something, which was totally pointless

then we drive 10 minutes further north to this dark, super-isolated housing community

and get to the singer, "Wolfy"'s house

that was an odd situation

it's this big, nice house

with Wolfy's mom sitting right there

and the band was odd as well

there was Wolfy, the singer, who was like, 15

then there was Tre, the drummer, he was cool, I think he's probably around 19

and then the guitar player, who's name I didn't catch, who's like 35 and married

so that was fucked up

we had to set up our instruments and just play two of our songs

with no drums

in front of these guys

that was awkward

and then they got up and played

they were alright

the guitarist was good, but like, he had no concept of... song themes for lack of a better term

there was no buildups, no fast parts, no slow, riffy parts

just the same basic riffs for the whole song

all of which were like, 6 or 8 minutes

it was boring

but Tre was good

after that we sat down and talked

basically, the schedule just won't work out

we can only practice at 11 because of Ruben's work, but that's too late for Wolfy and the guitarist

but not for Tre

in fact, Tre lives like 5 minutes away from the practice room

and his schedule is perfect

but the whole time we're talking, Tre kept kinda glancing at me and Ruben

so while everyone else was talking, I kinda said quietly: "hey, come outside with Ruben and I, so we can talk privately"

or something to that effect

and he agreed instantly and emphatically

I get the feeling if I hadn't said it, he would've

so afterwords, he walks out to the van with us, and he's like: "hey, you guys need a drummer, right?"

and he tells us that he's not really happy with the band, but he liked our stuff

so we're gonna call him Wednesday

and from the looks of things, he's going to join us

I haven't been this excited about the band since I first met Ruben

this is great

everything about him is just perfect[so far]

and the way all that happened is just incredible

right in our time of need this wierd-ass set of circumstances just happens and a perfect drummer just falls in our lap

it's incredible

I hope it really works out

I think it will

now we just have to work on a keyboardist[which we've also got lined up, I don't think I mentioned it]

and The Remaining will be good to go

Adios Amigos