"Right Here In These Arms" 2004-11-28 - 3:43 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today pretty much revolved around me going to see HIM

I stayed up until 6 playing Snake Eater because I'm halfway through the climax, I only stopped because it hit a slow spot and I was really tired, there's a good chance I'll finish it tonight[and stay up until 6 again doing so]

so I woke up at 4:30, and it's an odd set of circumstances

because I thought the show was at 6:30, so I was rushing to get everything I needed to get done done; and flying down the freeway to get there before the show ended

but when I typed the address into yahoo maps, I typed it in wrong, and got 730 south Mill Ave. instead of 730 north Mill Ave.; so I had to walk for like, half an hour before I got to the show

and I was practically running across Tempe trying to get there

until finally I get there, and there's a huge line way across the parking lot and halfway up the street

but luckily the show as actually at 8

so not only did I get in in time, but it was actually a good thing I was running so late

one thing that fucking sucked, though:

they made me throw away my wallet chain at the damn door

I wasn't allowed to bring it in for some dumb reason

and since my car was half an hour's walk away; I had to throw it away

fucking weak

so I was pissed off pretty much until HIM came on

the first band up was some hardcore band from LA called Program The Dead

they were alright, but Versus The Mirror is way better

then came Monster Magnet, who surprised the hell out of me

they were a lot better than I thought they would be

their lead singer was freaking awesome

he should teach a class for other lead singers on how to rock

he's a great frontman

and it was extra funny because they started off this one song by saying "this is for everybody here who's been ripped off by Hot Topic" or something like that

and then the song was about all the pretentious, high-school goth kids who shop at Hot Topic and just blindly follow that whole trend

it was pretty damn funny

I couldn't help but smile through the whole thing

even though I sorta fall into that category

oh well

finally HIM was on

which was...

I don't know, I hesitate to say it was dissapointing

but Monster Magnet had better stage presence

HIM sounded pretty much like they do on CD, which isn't bad

but compared to Tool or The Pixies; who sound even more rockin' live...

anyway

their mic's were fucked up, so Ville's mic would just cut sometimes; and you couldn't hear the background vocals at all

and speaking of Ville; he was a lot more Joey Ramone-esque than I thought he would be

but that might have had something to do with the fact that he was either sick or stoned

I don't know

their set seemed really short because I love so many of their songs that it felt like they left out so many

but the omission of The Funeral Of Hearts kinda sucked

and now that I think about it they left out Sigillum Diaboli too, which is a damn shame

but they did play Solitary Man; and finished with Join Me[In Death]; followed by an encore of Soul On Fire

which was awesome live

another cool thing was that at the end of Right Here In These Arms they went into a verse of TV Eye by The Stooges, which I think I was one of the few people to get, sadly

I don't know

the show was pretty good

but I can't help but be a little dissapointed

losing my wallet chain really pissed me off, and as such I didn't enjoy the show as much as I probably would've otherwise

I don't know

now I can say I've seen HIM live, and that's good enough for me

I was about ten-twenty feet away from Ville, and that makes me happy enough to not worry about the rest

anyway, tomorrow I'm going to see my family again

but for right now I've got some Metal Gear to play

Adios Amigos