"Downtown" 2004-09-11 - 4:27 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

In a dramatic twist of fate, I actually had an exciting night tonight

got my paycheck from work

a whopping $43

Kevin reminded me his band* was playing at Skrappy's tonight

so later on I showed up

now, I had been led to believe(through various sources, including Kevin himself) that his band played hardcore music

I more or less despise hardcore music

but I like Kevin; and another guy I work with is also in the band, so I figured I'd check it out

well, I came to find I had been misled

they play metal

full-on metal

they look and act like a scene-ey hardcore band

but they're fucking metal

they remind me a lot of In Flames or Killswitch Engage

and if you know who those bands are; then you know they sure as hell aren't hardcore

["hardcore" as in the crappy genre; not as in "hard-fucking-core"-type hardcore, because they are most certainly the second one]

I was both shocked and impressed

afterwords I helped Kevin load gear and talked to him some more

and he's starting to really become a friend of mine; which is far cooler than I can put into words

he has a very blank demeanor

and my inferiority complex has helped to color his nuetrality in a negative light

meaning that I always feel like when I'm working with him, and even talking to him; he's always thinking: "God I fucking hate this kid; I wish he'd stop bothering me"

and while we aren't really friends yet

I'm starting to realize that my paranoia is as unfounded as I'm always telling myself it is

I don't know if we'll ever be really good friends; but I hope we do

anyway;

while I was at Skrappy's, I was privy to another shocking revelation:

Cody works at Skrappy's now

which is interesting

given the music scene in Tucson and my being in a band; I'm likely to see him much more often now because of that

which is fine, Cody's a cool guy

and I don't know if he's clean now or if he's just more mellow

but he doesn't seem to be the hyper, moderately annoying wastoid that he was back in The Day

which is serious points for him

anyway

after the show I had band practice

the demo has caused quite a bit of conflict within the band

most of which we got hammered out tonight

which is one upside to our eagerness to yell at eachother

if we've got problems we get them right the fuck out; and usually wind up getting them fixed, since it basically works out as: one person is angry; the other person is defensive; and the third person is fairly nuetral and able to mediate it so that it gets resolved in a way that lets us live with eachother

anyway

I changed the way I sing again

it does sound better

but I kinda resent having to keep changing the way I sing in order to be what the band wants

and regardless of that now I have to send out demos with me singing the old way on them

but whatever

when we actually got to practicing it came out really well

we thought we were going to have a gig tomorrow night

[which we only learned about wednesday; and then tonight learned that it was cancelled anyway]

so from a combination of that and [for me personally]wanting to be able to compete with Kevin's band, we really put on an awesome practice

that I'm a little sorry no one was there to see

but if we can keep that up

or better yet; build from it

we will definitely rock

anyway, I've probably only got another half an hour's time before daybreak with which to play The Room in; so I've gotta go

Adios Amigos

*-if you want to hear how they really sound, click on the second link, the "be friends with VTM" one; the files at the first link["listen to..."] were apparently produced by this one guy who was more into pop[Kevin told me the story], and really softened up their sound. When I first went to their website, I only listened to the songs at that link; which is why I didn't expect them to sound the way they did. It's a pretty drastic difference.