"Whod've Thought New Jersey Could Be So Beautiful?" 2004-09-10 - 3:16 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I saw Garden State with Robyn tonight

[HAPPY BIRTHDAY ROBYN!]

wow...

another beautiful, artsy movie

not as much as Hero

like I said, that movie was like watching a painting for two hours

but Garden State was still very good

the only thing is; movies like that are starting to piss me off

just because that's never going to happen to me

they kiss and the credits roll

and I walk out of the theatre and just feel the hole in my chest get bigger; because I will never get a big dramatic, romantic happy ending

but Garden State really moved me for some reason

Robyn and I made the drive home in silence

alone, together

when I got home I tried to write a song about it

I wanted it to be beautiful

but as usual for me

it turned out dark

I haven't written lyrics yet

but I did write a very good guitar part that I'm really proud of

I'm not using it with The Remaining, though

no matter how the situation ends up

I know that The Remaining will not end up being my final band

and for when I finally start my own band

the way I want to

I'll have at least one song ready

but anyway

I burned a bunch of copies of the demo today

I'll decide whether or not I'm sending out the tape this weekend; and ship out whatever on monday, regardless

but as for the demo: "demo" may be too strong a word

it's just a few songs we recorded sloppily and quickly; in order to let club owners get an idea of how we sound

and that's why I'm sending it to you guys as well

so you can get an idea of how we sound

it's not a 100% accurate representation of The Remaining

there are screw-ups in the songs

the quality is bad

and my vocals aren't great

so don't get your hopes too high

anyway...

I've got to get back to The Room

Adios Amigos