"Cleaning Out My Closet" 2004-09-02 - 4:07 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

what a long fucking day

my family is having a garage sale this weekend, so I decided today would be a good time to finally clean up the monstrosity that is my closet.

see, for the past few years, when my family has moved; I've been too lazy to actually sort through my stuff and throw it away

so I just throw it all in boxes and drag it with us

and so when we moved here, I shoved it all in my closet; making my closet 100% full of crap

so today I had the bright idea of remedying that

it took me about 11 hours; counting a few hours for breaks

turns out about 70% of that shit was just papers I had been too lazy to sort out and throw away

so that kinda pissed me off

most of it was just drawings I had done on the sides of schoolwork

not really worth saving;

but I will say this:

my sense of humor never fails to amuse me

I don't know how funny I am to other people; but I crack myself up

which is a little sad

but for the stuff that wasn't papers...

I'm more sentimental than your average woman

the main reason I've avoided doing this for so long is that I always feel so bad getting rid of things that meant something to me as a child

I have this habit of giving things names and personalities and becoming horribly attached to them

and the idea of getting rid of them is like getting rid of people

but the fact is: it's all just stuff; and I had to just grit my teeth and not think about it and throw it in boxes

I don't know

it was all very tiring, I'm calling it a night

Adios Amigos