"Girls On Film" 2004-08-30 - 3:42 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

good news everyone!

we finally have the video

the bad news is: you can't really tell, but I said that like The Professor from Futurama; and meant it the same way

I expected it to be a little bad

well, more than a little

but I didn't expect it to suuuuuuuck

and it does

after waiting a month or so for Edgar to fucking edit it

we get to find out that he bloody wrecked it

now; there are some things that aren't his fault

A)The sound quality is mediocre, which was to be expected[we were just using the camera mics]

B)it was our first show, and we were pretty nervous; so our performance was crap

and C)my vocals did indeed suck, as I originally thought

as far as B and C go; it really just serves to show how far we've come

we've put a lot of work into our performance

and my vocals just keep getting better

so I'm not worried about that as far as we're concerned; but I'm a little hesitant to show it to others

but then, there's what Edgar's dumb ass did to it:

first, his camera was in night vision, meaning that all the shots from his camera[about 70-80% of the whole video] have this insanely bizarre greenish tint

second, he used the audio track from his camera; and he's really bad at editting, so whenever he switches to a shot from my camera, what we're doing doesn't match what we're playing

which is annoying to no end

thirdly, he has this tendency to be standing by the drums during my guitar solos

which drowns out the sound a little and doesn't show me playing

that's not a huge deal; but it is a bit annoying

and fourth; and by far the most annoying of all:

he cuts out the little song introductions and stage banter between songs

and, if that wasn't bad enough; he also cuts out like, half of the song intros

actual parts of the songs

!!

one time he even cuts out the entire first fucking verse!!!

I may just kick his ass the next time I see him

it pisses me off to no end

we waited over a fucking month for that shit; and he butchered it!

hell if I'm ever gonna let him tape anything for us again

Gabby and Ruben haven't seen it yet; I was going to make copies for them

now I'm not sure if I'm going to make copies or just give them the tape and let them watch it together

I don't know

gah

I know I said I was going to make copies and ship them out to people,

but the tape suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuucks

you only get one chance to make a first impression, and I don't want that tape to be it

I apologize to everyone who thought they would get one

when I get the raw tape from my camera back I might make copies of that and send them out

but I don't think I'm going to for this piece of crap

I apologize again

I'll still be sending out demos, assuming they aren't absolute crap as well

I know my vocals were mediocre at times, so I'm a little worried

but we're supposed to get it tomorrow, so I guess I'll find out then

either way,

I promise to tape another show in the future; and not let Edgar ruin it; and I'll send that out for free to anyone who wants it

whatever

Adios Amigos