"Saturday Night Fever" 2004-08-08 - 3:22 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was a fucking long day

got up, late, as usual

had just enough time to get to work

work was a little annoying

I wound up parking all the way across the parking lot

and on my one fifteen minute break midst my five hour shift;

instead of sitting down

I walked to my car to put my sunglasses inside

moron

for the rest of my shift it was painful to stand

because I am stupid

and spent the majority of my break walking across a parking lot instead of sitting down

then, after work it was straight off to the show

now; the show itself wasn't bad

I think we didn't put on the best performance we could've

only gave about 70-80% instead of 100%

but, to be fair: we were playing in the living room of a very small house

[smaller than mine!]

and the crowd was pretty unresponsive

I would say aobut 8/10 of them were into hip-hop

so our music didn't really speak to them, per se

but, instead of being smart and just taking our shit out immediately

we put it behind the other band, meaning that we couldn't take it until they were done

well, when the band, per se[twice in one entry!], was done

the drummer and bassist began to jam

while several of the hip-hopper audience members started freestyling on the mic

and, they went on for like, half an hour

no shit

which was pretty impressive

but; I was ready to leave

and so was Gabby

Ruben, being an idiot; was having the time of his life

but fuck Ruben

so it started to really suck when Gabby and I were ready to go; and we had to wait for every jackass in the place to get to the mic and finish rapping

and then, after that was over

about 70 more people showed up

who looked like they were into rock

which not only pissed me off because they were too late for our set

but because then they started grabbing instruments at random and improvising

finally Gabby and I said "fuck it" and fought our way through the crowd and started grabbing our shit

it was like a guerilla operation trying to get all of our shit out of there while the crowd was getting angry and excited

that sucked

and then, when we were loading our shit back into the practice room; I decided never to let Ruben move crap without me again

[since I worked until 10; Ruben and Gabby moved everything to the house by themselves]

because, he screwed up my mic stand for one

and for two: he broke my guitar stand

broke it

as in: it no longer works; and that is Ruben's fault

maybe he just has a problem with stands

but he is an idiot

anyway

after that; this photographer guy shows up, and decides to take our picture

apparently, he wants to be a photographer; so on weekends he drives around taking pictures of things and people

...

he didn't try to rob, molest, or charge us, so...

he says he'll e-mail us the pictures

so I guess you lucky folk will get to see more of me in the near future

I don't know

I have work again tomorrow

which kinda sucks; but it's going to make my next paycheck the biggest yet, which is going to be nice

but that means I should be getting to sleep

even though I won't

but I've run out of story

I guess I'm too worn out to make it interesting

but today has been long, and my legs are killing me

and I need sleep

Adios Amigos