"Super Freaky" 2004-08-07 - 4:11 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I guess in all the "excitement" I haven't really realized the band has a show tomorrow

it only started to sink in at practice, when I realized how disgustingly un-prepared we are

secretly I'm hoping it'll get cancelled

we had a pretty mediocre practice tonight

but we're "working on" revising our intro

except we haven't done a damn thing

and we're supposed to play it in front of people tomorrow!

we've done just enough so it's not the same; but not enough that it's actually anything

gah

I'm having a bit of trouble getting used to my new, louder vocals

and we were working on covering Paint It Black by the Rolling Stones

but now tonight they suddenly decided that we should cover Why Can't I Get Just One Kiss? by the Violent Femmes instead

Paint it Black is simple and excellent and I already knew how to play it

WCIGJOK is harder than fuck and just alright; and I don't know how to play it

so that sucks

so the band is pissing me off

plus I've got to worry wether this is about me; and wether I creeped out Jill so much by mentioning I was interested in dating her in my livejournal that she's completely avoiding me and neglecting her lj

and in news not related to me;

Rick James died today

or.. yesterday or whatever

which sucks

but I can't help but remember the good times with ol' Rick

and plus, I heard today that not only are they making a movie based on his memoirs

but Dave Chapelle is in talks to play Rick in the movie

because he obviously did such a good job of portraying him on his show

and, y'know, looks like him and stuff

[!?]

the only reason I can think of for that is that when Rick James was on Chapelle's Show to provide his side of the story for the Charlie Murphy's True Hollywood Stories about him; he liked the way Dave played him and was like: "y'know, I'm makin' a movie based on my memoirs, how'd you like to play me in that?"

either that or I misheard the actor's name that they said

I don't know

tomorrow is going to suuuuuuuuuuuuck

Adios Amigos

RIP

Rick James

1948-2004

"Cocaine's A Helluva Drug"