"Bound For The Floor" 2004-07-27 - 4:19 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

[it's amazing how much I can swallow and still put on a happy face]

I haven't updated in a while

no reason, really

had my first day of work saturday

it's alright

if you're not on register it's basically just like hanging out at Hot Topic for 4 hours without being able to buy shit

it gets boring real quick

I did learn a few things, though:

Slipknot fans are the messiest, most uncurtious bastards of music fans out there

at closing we have to go and reorganize all the little piles of shirts

and all the Slipknot shirts were just gigantic messes; turned from a neatly-folded stack to a gigantic pile of disorder

the fuckheads

second; I found out Thrice really does suck

I'd heard that song "staring at the sun" and one of their others on MTV and the radio, and I'd thought they sounded ok

I had intended to buy their album

luckily I never got around to it; or I would've been pissed

usually they just put an ass-load of discs into this 100 disc changer at Hot Topic and put it on random

but around closing one of the guys convinced the manager to just play Thrice's album

and boy, did it suck

their two radio songs were very misleading

they're really just the same screaming crap as all these other shitty bands out right now

except the lead singer still has his testacles

oh well, live and learn

and I don't know if it was just the manager we had there saturday, or if it's "store policy"; but at closing time they actually played "Closing Time" by Semisonic as a not-so-subtle hint to the customers to wrap up their shopping and get the hell out

heh heh

I don't know why but I really liked that

anyway,

fast forward to tonight; with The Killers, The Burning Brides, and The Evening

my prediction from last night was correct

but it was still a lot of fun

although I'd "seen" The Evening with The Killers and Stellastarr* up in Phoenix

I'd actually walked in about 3/4 of the way through their set and couldn't really hear them

but tonight I caught the whole thing, and I really enjoyed them

bought their CD, actually

next up was The Burning Brides

who were pretty good

nothing mind-blowing

but something of note:

they started with Heart Full Of Black; which, as I've mentioned, I really like

but of course, this being Tucson, I was the only one really rocking out to it

well this girl came up next to me, and she's rocking out too

then she turns to me and says:

"wanna start a mosh pit?"

now, much to my shagrin, I'd never been in a mosh pit before

but I definitely wanted to try it

so I said: "sure", and she just shoves this girl in front of her

so we got the pit started

and there were a lot of big, burly guys there

and I'm pretty skinny

some might even say scrawny

so big burly guys + me x mosh pit = me airborne

I kid you not, I spent most of my time in the pit airborne

I don't know if that's normal or not

but I would get in there and everytime somebody shoved me I would just find myself flying across the pit until I landed on some other poor bastard

I wasn't really flying; but my feet weren't touching the ground

at first I was really good at landing on my feet

but I had to duck out early since I had been smoking a lot and hadn't had anything to drink; and the exercise in the mosh pit made me absolutely dying of thirst

so I spent most of the Burning Brides' set to the side, gulping down water and sweating profusely

after their set I met up with Ruben and Gabby

and we hung out and talked

apparently Sara wants to rejoin the band

but we reached a unanimous decision that we don't need her

I'm not selfish enough to gloat about it

[plus I don't have anything against Sara]

but it's nice to know the band is behind my vocals 100%

anyway

after that The Killers were up

they were alright

a bit dissapointing, actually

not so much because of them; moreso because of how much I'd built them up in my head

they gave a decent performance

but decent wasn't good enough to match up to my inordinately high expectations

oh well

anyway, during the course of their show, the entire crowd gradually became a giant mosh pit

I joined in several times

[most of them voluntary]

but I just kept falling more and more, so finally I decided to just stay out of the pit

although, I did lose my bracelet in the pit

which kind of sucks

I liked that bracelet

but it didn't have any sentimental value; and I can get another one at Hot Topic with my discount

so no big deal

I'll just go without for a few days

all in all it was a pretty good show

made small talk with the singer and guitarist from The Killers after the show

Ruben was all happy because they remembered him

other than that:

The Remaining may have another gig this weekend

this time at somebody else's place, so we don't have to worry about cleanup and the like

which'll be nice

assuming it happens

who really knows?

Adios Amigos