"The End Of The World" 2004-07-08 - 3:47 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

interesting things I caught on tv today:

the second half or last quarter or whatever of Heat; which is a disgustingly good movie

I really need to see all of that in an uneditted setting

also; I saw The Cure's latest video, which was pretty good

I may end up buying their new album based on that song

I've always kind of half-assedly listened to The Cure, but maybe I should start putting more of my ass into it

another interesting thing I stumbled upon(on the internet):

a trailer for Silent Hill 4

*drooly noises*

my dear God

the way I feel about that game series is definitely unhealthy

but just from the trailer I'm a little scared of it already

and the new monsters...

Jesus Christ

the progression of the monsters in the Silent Hill series is really cool

in #1 they were actual monsters

tiny demons, pteradactyls[which I know I misspelled], skinless dogs, and zombies[fast ones, though]

in #2, they got a little more abstract

with the more basic monsters being things you could make out the shape of; humanoid creatures, and ape-like things

but they started to get kind of abstract and bizarre

in #3 they were outright fucked up

I hesitate to say "Lovecraftian" simply because they weren't all that tentacle-ey

but they were like something out of old, bizarre paintings

I could name an artist if I wasn't too lazy to go look up the name

I have to admit I was more than a little frightened just thinking about what they would come up with in #4; and from what I saw of the trailer I wasn't dissapointed

the only ones you could really make out were these... bizarre things that appeared to be torsoes running along on their arms and dragging their limp stumps, with two little Japanese doll-heads

I find them flat-out fucking terrifying

playing that game is going to be an experience

I can't wait

but at the same site, I also found out that the Silent Hill comic; which puppet-666 was nice enough to tell me about; came out in February

I was unaware of when it was actually going to come out, but now I know

so guess where I'm going tomorrow?

if you guessed the comic book shop, you guessed right

as far as serious stuff goes; orientation at Hot Topic was alright

better than the one at Wal-Mart

I start work monday

well, I work from 8:30-9:30[pm] on monday for training, and that's all I'm scheduled for so far

so... yeah

I think it's just because of the training

but I'm going to talk to the manager and ask for more hours

but on the upside;

I now have a job, but I haven't started yet

which means I can indulge in my bizarre sleeping habits with no guilt

stay up till 6 AM sleep 'til 4 PM?

no problem

I don't need to look for a job, and I don't have to go to work

nothing to feel guilty about at all

heh heh

and in band news,

after having a few practices without Sara, I've been promoted to lead singer

I re-wrote some of the lyrics to be more "hook-ey"; and I've started singing higher

so now Ruben and Gabby like my singing

and since we're probably not going to find a singer by the time we start playing shows*/find one who fits in with us and has our same ideas,

they've decided to just let me sing

..."for now" anyway

our first show is going to be kind of a "test" to see if I can handle it

whatever

but speaking of our first show:

*we've got our first show with this other band that's also just starting out at the warehouse the practice room is in on the 17th

a week and a half

that's awesome

we've got all but one song ready[and we'll have that next practice]; and we're bloody tired of waiting, so Gabby and/or Ruben went ahead and scheduled a show with the guys we were supposed to have our first show with back before Jon quit the band

we had to back out because of that; and then we went and combined the bands shortly after he quit, so that The Hotline couldn't play either

so they went and did the show by themselves

but now we're finally ready; and we've scheduled the show

so now I just hope nothing goes horribly wrong before that

I think the only one of my "friends" I'm going to invite is Robyn

she's the only one I still consider my friend

one of these days I have to get my jacket back from Stephanie; but other than that...

I don't know

anyway, lots to say tonight

life in general is starting to really look up for me

in ways I honestly never thought possible

so let's just hope that everything goes well

and maybe I can be the lead in the movie of my life yet

Sweet Dreams, My Friends