"Instant Music" 2004-06-21 - 4:18 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

sometimes I forget that Joy Division is one of my favorite bands

but then I listen to Les Bains Douches 18 December 1979 again

Disorder sounds so achingly beautiful at that performance

the music just sounds so desperate somehow, and the vocals/lyrics are brilliant

one of my all time favorite recordings, definitely

anyway

my first whole day with my family gone

it was fun waking up and listening to the FLCL soundtrack as I made French Toast for breakfast at 4:30 in the afternoon

heh heh

then almost immediately it was off to practice

the first practice with the band combined

I have to say, I have more fun together with the band than I do with my friends or family

I can't wait until I come of age or get a fake ID so I can hang out with them all the time

[they always go out to clubs and bars(Sara has a fake ID)]

anyway, it went really well

we got two of the three Hotline songs down

(mostly)

and I don't know if I mentioned it before,

but when we decided to combine the two bands, we decided to come up with a new name

I've always been of the mindset that bands are their own entities; and if the lineup changes, it's no longer the same entity, and therefore deserves a new name

kind of like how after Ian Curtis' death, Joy Division became New Order; despite the fact that the lineup change was minor

but, after standing outside the practice room on our break for seriously half an hour to an hour trying to think of a new name;

we just decided to stick with The Remaining

and despite my mindset; after how long we spent thinking of names, I can live with that

so yeah,

things are going well

we're going to have kind of a rigorous practice schedule this week, basically the practice days for both bands combined

[m,t,th,f,su]

so that we can catch up with the songs quicker

and then we're going to The Remaining's old schedule

[t,th,su]

we're planning on writing two new songs, and then we're going to start gigging

I think we'll be doing shows starting next month

early next month

I pray we will

after how many times things have started to finally look good and then have gone to hell in this band[and my general luck overall], there's a decent chance things will go wrong again before that

I need to have a talk with Ruben

it's real easy to see why Gabby gets mad at him so often

I mean, we all kind of mock eachother and "attack" eachother a lot

like most friends do

[right?]

but Ruben has a tendency to single out Gabby specifically, and often

and I need to talk to him about that so he doesn't fuck things up with the band

not to mention his hopes of getting back together with her

I don't know how the fuck she put up with him in the first place

God knows I couldn't

though he does have a sweet ass

Adios Amigos