"Either/Or" 2004-06-18 - 3:01 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I couldn't decide wether to call this entry "Bizarre Love Triangle" or "Lack of Communication"; either one works, so I figured I'd just call it "Either/Or" and tell you guys about my indecision, and let you sort it out

ok;

today was pretty boring until band "practice", which was chock full of excitement

first, potential drummer #2 couldn't make it

he's only 16; and since he lives across town from the practice room, his parents don't want him driving across town late at night

so I guess he's out of the running

Ruben was super tired, and said if he'd known pd #2 wasn't coming he would've just cancelled practice so we just kind of sat and talked outside the practice room for a bit before going home

turns out Ruben's getting antsy

as am I; but Ruben apparently has a smaller patience gland than me

he wants us to figure out what the hell we're going to do by Sunday;

and if we can't figure out a way to make it work, that means the end of the band

which means I have to talk to The Hotline about maybe combining the bands, and see what they think

which may present more of a problem than originally projected

apparently Gabby is mad at Ruben again

she stopped by the practice room to give him some CDs she borrowed, which can't be good

while she was there, she told me that there were some things we need to talk about at practice tomorrow

arg

now, I'm not sure if she means just me and her, or all three of us

if she means the three of us; then she's either going to go off on Sara for really slacking off last week

or her hatred of Ruben has escalated to the point where she doesn't want me to play in a band with Ruben and her; and she's going to make me choose between the two

...or else she could be moving away or quitting the band or something, who knows

but if it's just between the two of us; it's obviously the second one

gah

I don't know

I wish she hadn't said that, it's going to bother me all fucking day and night

so things are super complicated in band world right now

on the personal side as well

this is where the "Bizarre Love Triangle" thing comes in

Gabby seems to get mad at Ruben a lot, and for no reason

[according to him anyway]

tonight she called him a bunch to yell at him, and when she stopped by she didn't seem happy with him

but as soon as she drove away,

Ruben told me how he's been thinking about her almost constantly; and he's starting to think about maybe settling down for good

and how he'd like to do that with Gabby

which isn't new

he's been talking for a while now about how he regrets breaking up with her

I figured it was just post-break-up-regret; but it's only gotten worse

so he still loves her

and she's starting to hate him

and I'm in the middle trying desperately to avoid the situation

so far I've been pretty successful

but depending on how tomorrow night goes, I may have to broach the subject head on

which oughtta be tons of fun

I don't know

combined with the fact that my family is leaving for OH saturday morning

[and I have to wake up to drive them to the airport]

this is going to be one helluva weekend

but on the shallow end of things,

Lack of Communication by The Von Bondies came in the mail today,

my hair has finally gotten to the point where it can genuinely be called "long-ish"

off the top of my head I can't think of any celebrity or anyone to compare it to; but it's quite a bit longer than it was in the pictures I posted in here a while back

by the end of the month I might just be able to pull it all back in a little samurai-horsetail-whatever-you-call-it

and finally, I wrote another song

just for my own personal use

I'm quite proud of it

so that's the news in my little world

wish me luck boys & girls

Sweet Dreams