"Hot Fuss" 2004-06-16 - 3:00 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

some news, finally

first, Andre 3000 was on the season finale of The Shield tonight

extra cool points for him, as if he needs them

also, I finally got The Killers' album

yay

it actually lives up to my expectations, which is surprising given just how much I was looking forward to that album

I put a lot of pressure on it, and it delivered

the only thing that kind of sucks is,

my favorite song of theirs is this one track called "Indie Rock & Roll"

when I first saw them live I seriously almost cried when they played it; and it was the main thing that made me want to go buy their album

but

in a cruel twist of fate,

"Indie Rock & Roll" is only on the UK version of the album

that sucks so bad

if the rest of the album wasn't so damn good I would seriously be pissed

it's almost worth ordering the UK version just for that song; but I'm too damn poor

oh well

and finally, the real news;

we met a potential drummer tonight

he's like, a friend of Gabby's roommate who just came from Mexico

...or something

I don't know

he says he'll play with us; but I've yet to meet a drummer who actually tells us they won't play with us

we'll have to wait until we actually want to practice to see if he wasn't just being nice

but I'm not sure if I want him to play with us if he was serious

let's weigh the pros and cons:

Pros:

he's really good at the drums, and we'll have all our songs within a week

Cons:

he lives 10-20 minutes away from the practice room, in a direction that neither Ruben or I live in, and he doesn't have a car

also, he doesn't really speak english

Ruben says he understands more than he speaks; but that doesn't impress me much

now, in my opinion, the cons outway the pros

but Ruben seems to like him

but, Ruben can talk to him

the ride thing sucks

but I'll pretty much make Ruben do that

and according to the guy, he's going to be moving closer to the city in like, two weeks

whatever

plus, he's starting a job soon

[arg]

and he doesn't know what his schedule will be like

I don't know

that seems like quite a bit of complications when he's not quite our last resort yet

but the biggest problem is my not being able to talk to him

I mean, something like music, which I take very seriously; I want to be able to communicate what I want with my bandmates

and having to talk through Ruben is going to be a bitch

to be honest; if it were up to me I would just say 'fuck him'

but Ruben seems to like him

gah

hopefully he won't call us back

does that make me an asshole?

Adios Amigos