"Optimistic" 2004-05-26 - 3:27 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

odd day

woke up feeling like shit

sat around and watched Jeepers Creepers on USA most of the afternoon*

played some videogames with my sister then went to practice

I felt pretty depressed most of the day

practice cheered me up though

oddly enough it was Ruben's smiling face

which still confuses me

but I had a lot of fun

we've now got 3 songs down pat

...well, in theory

Jon still has a few indiscretions, but for the most part we're going strong

and my vocals are getting better

I've stoppped trying to sound like what I think I should sound like; and started just singing

I don't sound how I want to; but I still sound alright

I think it's for the best

I've also resolved to call my friends friday and see if I can prove my angry, pessimistic, depressed predictions from last night's entry wrong

I would call them tomorrow; but I promised my sister I'd take her to the mall, and then (since it's one of only two nights a week I don't have practice now)I was looking forward to spending a quiet evening at home watching Velvet Goldmine

thursday I've got a doctor's appointment; and then practice later

and friday I have practice too; but maybe during the day I can trick them into actually hanging out with me for a change

who knows?

*-either way, in an attempt to lighten the mood a little; for the rest of this entry I'm going to bitch about Jeepers Creepers, so if you've actually got stuff to do; just pretend I said "sweet dreams" or "adios amigos" or something

I figure I don't have to worry about spoilers, since the movie is four years old; and anyone who wants to see it has probably seen it already

usually I try not to watch movies for the first time on tv; unless I heard they're crappy or I don't care about them

Jeeper's Creepers was one of the latter

and anyone who hasn't seen it won't know what I'm talking about from now on; but oh well

it just kind of pisses me off that people in horror movies act like they've never seen a horror movie before

true, there was that line about "you know that part in scary movies when someone does something stupid and everyone else hates them for it? well this is that part"

but she was wrong, that wasn't the part

going back to the pipe was stupid; but ultimately pointless

it seemed like "the creeper" or whatever "had their scent"(or whatever) before that, so all in all that was just a waste of time

I had a bit more to rant about that part, but I'll spare you

the part that pissed me off was when they hit the monster, then drove over it again and again; until finally the guy said: "enough!"

in the words of Charlie Murphy:

"wrong....wrong"

you can never hit the monster enough

you never just say "OK, I think we got it" and drive off

admittedly, the wing spasm thing was pretty convincing; but come on

when you're being chased by a seemingly unstoppable monster that has your scent and is never going to stop coming after you, and you've got it down

you go to work on that fucker like you're Mr. Blonde and it's Marvin Nash; and you don't stop until you know it's fucking dead

had I been in that situation, I would've driven over it several more times; then stopped the car with the back tires pinning it down

then I would've gone to that old woman's house and seen if she had a toolshed

if she did I would've taken a hatchet or preferrably a chainsaw; if not a meat cleaver or even a big, sharp kitchen knife would've done

then I would've dismembered the monster, starting with its head; and tossed the pieces far enough apart that it couldn't pull itself back together

then I would've moved the car, and cut out several of its organs; also placing them a distance away

then I would've gone back to the old woman's house and seen if she'd had any gas cans, or lighter fluid, or anything flammable; even an old oil lamp I could bust open and use

if worse came to worse I would take her garden hose and syphon some gas out of my car

I would've doused the monster's pieces in it and lit that bitch up

after everything was ashes[and I mean everything; even if I had to relight some chunks a few times]

I would've hooked up her garden hose and sprayed all the ashes into the dirt around the highway

then I would've found some paint and painted a big cross over the section of highway; and tried to remember a prayer to say over it

you can't be too sure when dealing with "unstoppable" demons

then I would've gotten in my car and kept driving until I was a state or two over

I'm fucking thorough

I know better than to just drive off when the monster is still in one piece

two other points:

when the demon had the kid in the police station; and the police had those assault rifles pointed at it; I would've screamed "shoot!" and/or "shoot me!"

I mean come on, would you want to get dragged back to that thing's lair?

second; that last shot was stupid

I mean, as soon as I heard the movie was called "Jeepers Creepers" I knew the monster was going to eat somebody's eyes

[and if you've ever heard that song you understand why]

and I knew when it took him back to its lair, it was going to eat his

but did it really have to hollow out the back of his head just so we could get that cheesy last shot of the monster looking through his eyesockets?

I hate it when movies throw logic and/or continuity out the window just to get some cheesy shot or line or something

under any circumstances

it's just tacky

it was a decent movie though

I really liked when the monster was whistling the song after it killed those two cops; it showed that it had intelligence and wasn't just some mindless, animalistic killing machine

and the part at the old lady's house when the power went out and all the little wind-powered-dealies stopped

that was a genuinely chilling moment

it was a decent movie

overall I'd give it a "meh"

Adios Amigos