"A Smoking Good Time" 2004-05-17 - 3:32 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was a little weird

fell asleep at 8:30 in the morning

woke up at 3:30 in the afternoon

just sat around all day until practice

the band, by the way, is going extremely well

it feels so "too good to be true" that I'm starting to seriously get nervous that something horrendously bad is going to happen

like Jon's going to get hit by a car or something

it just seems like things never go this well for me, and it's only a matter of time before it fucks up

but that's coming dangerously close to angsty; so let's move on

see, when I said "Jon didn't know how to play drums"

the only real problem that caused was that he didn't really know how to organize his playing

each time we would play a song he would play something different

but he's starting to get a handle on things astoundingly quickly

especially considering he leaves his drums at the practice room and only practices when we do

but that's what I meant when I said he's a good musician

even if he doesn't know the little technical shit and can't read drum tabs

he knows how to play; and knows how to get organized when he isn't

and now that he's getting his shit together, he's almost better at drums than Ruben is at bass

I wish that were a joke or jab at Ruben, but it's really not

anyway,

tonight we went through a song riff by riff; and Jon wrote down what he plays

which is what we should have done in the first place, and what we will do in the future

and now we've got Failure 100% done

and I have to say, it sounds awesome

I'm really excited about things

and if we can sit down and go through each song part by part like that; I think playing shows within a month is an attainable goal

I just pray nothing happens to fuck it up

everyone pray with me

now let us pass around the collection plate

alright, I'm stopping with the religious crap before I get sucked into a rant

but I still think we should've called our band The First Church Of Gir

anyway,

the chest cold that I had for over a fucking week is finally starting to break

yay

although it did help me to realize that I finally became addicted to cigarettes

damnit

sometime last year I went two whole weeks without smoking and I didn't even notice until I found my smokes in my jacket and I was like: "oh yeah, I smoke"

but then in the past few months I've started to smoke a lot more, almost to the point of being a chain smoker

and I guess that got me hooked

'cause when I got sick I didn't want to smoke; because chest cold + smoking = pain

but I found myself thinking about it a lot, and even having a few cigarettes despite the fact that it hurt a bit to do so

so that's not good

but my chest cold is finally going away; and I can smoke without pain now,

and it feels great

but I broke my fucking lighter, so now I need to go buy a new one

damnit

you'd think Zippos would be longer lasting or something

bah

Adios Amigos