"Random Crap" 2004-05-13 - 4:09 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

it's been a few days since I've updated

nothing to say really

things are going good[well, based on our first practice anyway] with Jon

he doesn't know how to play drums, really; but he's a better musician than both of us and that kind of makes up for it

so hopefully that'll keep up

in other news,

I'm considering writing a story/screenplay/something to try and help me figure out my sexuality

it's one of the few times where my thinking is: "well, it's worked for other people, maybe it'll work for me too"

I don't know

I probably won't do it because I'm a lazy, unmotivated shit

and plus I have trouble getting excited about writing stuff that doesn't have monsters or samurai

but it's an idea

also;

I've been listening to HIM almost non-stop, and it's starting to bring out my goth side again

I'm starting to wear all black, and now I'm listening to Type O Negative

I forgot just how fucking good they were; Love You To Death is seriously beautiful

I just have to remind myself that I'm in a punk(ish) band and not get too into this again

that sounds crappy, but I have ADD or something

I'm like Cleveland Jr. from Family Guy,

if I start listening to metal again, I can seriously see myself breaking up the band just to try and start a metal band

one second it's: "I'm Julian Casablancas; I'm Julian Casablancas"

then I break up the band and start going: "I'm Ville Vallo; I'm Ville Vallo" while trying to start a metal band

it's more than a little worrisome actually

I don't know

hopefully I can stay focused

in tv news;

the Law & Order season finale is next week; which kind of sucks, but they'll be back

the sad thing is, Lenny Brisco[aka actor Jerry Orbach] is leaving the show

that sucks

he's my favorite character, and he seriously makes that show

even though he wasn't always on the show; he's been on it for 12 years, and has been on longer than anyone else on the show now;

and it's hard to imagine the show without him

I'll still have the infinite reruns on TNT with him in them;

but it's just hard to imagine the new episodes with some other guy filling in

I don't know

I suppose it had to happen eventually;

and at least he's not dying or getting disgraced or something

[it showed him walking out the door smiling with a box in his arms in the preview while it talked about him leaving]

but it still sucks

in other tv news;

"I find it kinda funny, I find it kinda sad"

that the only good videos on MTV anymore are hip-hop

they only play about 15 videos now, and only like, 4 of them are any good

Roses by Outkast; Ch-Ch-Check It Out by the Beastie Boys is alright; All Falls Down by Kanye West rocks; and I kinda like 99 Problems by Jay-Z

I mean, it's not like MTV was ever a good place for music

when they even play music, that is

but it used to be if there was nothing else on you could just tune to MTV and catch Maps or The Darkness or something

but now it's all either Hip-Hop or that flood of shitty "punk" bands that all sound the same with singers who sound like they don't have nuts

I don't know

I know nowadays bands are only cool if nobody else listens to them and MTV is The Great Satan; but mainstream has a place too,

and it kinda sucks that there aren't any good mainstream bands anymore

oh well

Adios Amigos