"A Night To Remember" 2004-04-30 - 12:17 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

what a fucking night

wow

went to go see Division of Laura Lee and The Sounds at City Limits

it fucking rocked

I don't know which band I liked better

I didn't meet any girls,

well, there was this one girl that Ruben and I kind of hung out with; but she was 14 and not my type, so she doesn't count

there was this cute guy there, though

who looked like he was into guys as well

but I didn't have the courage to talk to him

which kind of sucks because the opportunity arose several times

oh well

but as far as the show goes:

Division of Laura Lee fucking rocked

rocked

they put on a real good show,

the bassist was walking out onto the amps beyond the stage, and the guitarist started swinging his guitar everywhere at the end

but I was a magnet for flying band equipment

first, during the first song, the drummer's drumstick broke, and he threw it out into the crowd

it landed right on my shoe

now it's hanging on my wall, I'm looking at it right now, as I type this

then, around the end, the guitarist swung his water bottle towards the crowd

so Ruben, being a jackass, swung his water bottle at the stage

none of it reached the stage, but about half of it landed directly on me

so I'm standing there, looking at my dripping self

and I don't know if it was an accident or what, 'cause I didn't see it

[Ruben thinks the guitarist was throwing it at him in retaliation for the water]

but all of a sudden a fucking mic stand flew through the air and hit me in the head

which was bad enough, but it swung down and hit me in the nuts as well

it didn't really hurt, but it made my night

seriously, for the rest of the night I was like: "sweet, I got hit in the head"

I was a little dissapointed about two things, though:

A)after I got hit, I lost track of the stand and I couldn't grab it and take it home

and B)I didn't bleed

but it still rocked

during The Sounds, the guitarist from Division came out and stood right next to me

I shook his hand and congratulated him on the show;

I tried to tell him he hit me in the head, but he didn't hear me

I have to take a moment from describing the show to comment on one thing, though:

kids today suck

they have no respect for music

they stood still as mannequins during Division of Laura Lee

and Division had a rocking set

I was headbanging like I was still a metalhead

every one else was stock still, though

during The Sounds they moved around;

but that was a shitty thing to do

they did the same thing when I went to Skrappy's to see Tokyo Sex Destruction

Tokyo put on probably the best live show I've ever seen[with the Yeah Yeah Yeahs providing the only real competition], and the few jackass Skrappy's kids who actually bothered to show up just stood there like statues

I hope people aren't like that everywhere

I hope it's just a crappy Tucson thing

I remember when my short-lived band The Mole People did our "show";

for the first few songs our friends just sat there and looked bored, and didn't react after we finished songs

it felt terrible

and I can't imagine puting on a real, wild live show for people and them just standing there like idiots

that just pisses me off

ok, rant over, back to show description

Ruben left after Division finished

he doesn't like The Sounds

honestly I didn't expect to like them either; and I almost left

at first the only thing that kept me there was wanting to tell that girl I mentioned that if she ever saw "The Remaining" were playing somewhere, to check us out

but as I listened to the show, The Sounds kind of won me over

they put on a great live show, and they reminded me a lot of early Blondie

I think Division had the better show, but not by much

and I swear to God that the singer from The Sounds kept looking right into my eyes

I'm not even kidding

so they put on a great show, and I bought CDs from both bands and left

afterwords that girl convinced me to stay and try and meet the band

we actually did end up standing about two feet from the singer, guitarist, and keyboardist behind the club

and the girl talked to them and got them all to sign her face

but I realized I had nothing to say to them and just kind of slunk off

[after giving the girl the name of my band and telling her to check us out if she saw us playing somewhere, of course]

so now I've got a broken drumstick on my wall and a bump on my head; and I can't wait to go see the Killers and Stellastarr* in Phoenix tomorrow

yay for music

**3:37 AM addition**

it's closing in on 4 in the morning and I still can't sleep

I'm writing while I let my CD player cool down a little

I just listened to The Sounds CD, and it was weird

it reminds me of The Ramones in that The Ramones live and The Ramones in the studio are like two different bands

when songs on The Sounds album would play I would be like: "don't I know this song from somewhere? How come I don't recognize it?"; and then it would get to the chorus and I would be like: "oh, they played this live"

interesting

...I guess

ok, my CD player's probably cool now

Sweet Dreams