"Televators" 2004-04-24 - 2:52 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

so yeah, haven't written for a few days

I'd apologize, but you guys probably liked that better

the truth is I didn't really have much to say

I did see Stephanie on wednesday, but we didn't see Kill Bill

we hung out and I watched her and Evan read from a strategy guide how to play Final Fantasy X

meh

we have plans for tomorrow as well

so that should be interesting

I feel like I should feel bad about the things I've said

but I don't

just because she actually saw me again for the first time in months doesn't change what's happened in the past

whatever

I must sound like a real asshole when I talk about Stephanie

especially to Stephanie

whatever, moving on

I got my check from Honeybaked Ham today

and lo and behold,

now it's half gone

I made out pretty good, though

got a Kill Bill poster; a neat David Bowie t-shirt; Bloodrayne for PS2; "Sleeping with Ghosts" by Placebo; and "Deloused in the Comatorium" by The Mars Volta

and I've still got over $50 left

I haven't listened to the Placebo album yet,

but I'm glad I got the Mars Volta one

"Intertiatic ESP" is one of the most beautiful songs I've heard in a while

if I had the chance/money to see them with A Perfect Circle, I would take it in a heartbeat

oh well

as far as actual show news goes;

I'm going to see Division of Laura Lee, a band Ruben has been selling me on for a while, with the Sounds(gag) on thursday

and then I'm driving up to Phoenix to see Stellastarr* with the Kills(or maybe Killers, I forget which) on friday

the other bands are all kind of 'meh'

I'm not a big fan of the Sounds, but Ruben's been telling me about Division of Laura Lee practically since I met him; and he says that the Kills/Killers are good

but I really want to see Stellastarr*, they fucking rock

I hope they put on a good live show

not much else to say, really

I came up with (what I think is)a really good comic concept while watching "Devil's Rain" on AMC tonight

['Fear Fridays' rocks]

I'm probably not going to follow through with it though

the only comic I ever really followed through on I ended up giving up because the concept had a big giant hole in it that I couldn't fill

I've come close to actually making one a few times

and it's still one of my favorite concepts,

but I just have trouble following through

I'm good at coming up with concepts and basic plots

even specific scenes

but it's actually sitting down and writing out the story that I have trouble with

how the character gets from scene to scene and all that little stuff,

I just don't have the attention span for it

that's why I'd like to work together with someone else on things

I tried it with Stephanie once, but it didn't help

she wasn't really that into it, so it just kinda fizzled out

I don't know

I'll actually put some effort into this one and hope it pans out

**edit**-here's an amusing anecdote:

I was just in the other room pouring myself a glass of grape juice, and I figured I'd give myself only half a glass; so as I was pouring it the thought came to me: "there, the glass is about half full"

I guess I really am an optomist after all

who'da thought?

Adios Amigos