"Super-Happy-Fun "Contest"" 2004-04-02 - 3:07 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

smashing good news tonight, loyal readers

The Remaining have a drummer

well, in theory

I wouldn't be at all surprised if tomorrow she e-mails Ruben and says she changed her mind

but as of now we have a drummer

it's Ruben's ex-girlfriend Gabby

she's really cool, and to watch her and Ruben interact you wouldn't know they were ex-es

...or however you would phrase that

hell, you wouldn't even know they dated at all

but whatever

she knows Seven Nation Army[but honestly, who doesn't?], and tonight she wrote a drum part for our song Failure

which is a fucking good start for our first night together

I really hope this works out

not much else going on

I start work at Honeybaked Ham on tuesday

and that gives me an excuse not to worry about getting another job for a week

which will let me relax a little

I want to see the Hellboy and Punisher movies

[and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind]

and I'm absolutely dieing to see Kill Bill Vol. 2

yesterday I watched a show about the life of Bruce Lee

and they showed the last fights/ending of "Game of Death"; which is the one where he wears that yellow tracksuit with the black stripes that Kill Bill Vol. 1 paid homage to

that combined with the '70s dialogue and kung-fu action had me wanting to watch Kill Bill so bad I was practically strung out over it

but Vol. 1 is released on DVD a few days after I finish at Honeybaked Ham

and Vol. 2 comes out in theatres three days later

meaning a large portion of the paycheck I'll be receiving will go towards Kill Bill

but that's a worry for two weeks from now

right now the only other thing on my mind is band related stuff

and so I introduce to you:

The Super-Happy-Fun "Name A Remaining Song" Contest

I've written lyrics to a song, but I can't figure out a title at all

so I figure I'll ask you nice people for help

not that I expect any of you lazy, non-interacting bastards to actually respond

but it's worth a try

I intend to send most of you our first EP/album/demo for free when we get it recorded anyway

but I guess if one of you responds and I pick your suggestion I'll throw in a free t-shirt as well

[as soon as Ruben works things out with the guy that's supposed to make our t-shirts]

anyway;

the lyrics are more of an up-beat "party song" with no real message

I was trying to go for more of a Yeah Yeah Yeahs/Strokes type feel with it

so here they are, and if you can think of a good title for them; please drop me a note:

I heard you were out drinkin'

I heard you forgot about me

I heard that you just weren't thinkin'

when things got so crazy

don't you go out lonely

a bad moon's on the rise

I know you're feelin' hungry

with fire in your eyes

I followed you to that place

but lost you at the door

you put up such a good chase

but ended up on the floor

don't you go out lonely

a bad moon's on the rise

I know you're feelin' hungry

with fire in your eyes

I told you so

I told you so

don't you go out lonely

a bad moon's on the rise

I know you're feelin' hungry

with fire in your eyes

-untitled

The Remaining[assuming the others OK it]

so yeah, like I said; a bit of rhyming, no real substance

not my finest work

but it still needs a title

and I already tried "I told you so", so that one's out

anyway,

Adios Amigos