"Up The Bracket" 2004-03-22 - 2:21 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

not a lot happened today

but what did happen was mildly important

went to my cousin's birthday "party"

just everyone sitting around watching the formula one race

a bunch of his friends that I had classes with in high school were there

I was glad I had to leave early

the good news is:

we might have a drummer

I don't know much about him; other than that he can improvise

and that the drums are louder than fuck in the practice room

but Ruben says he's cool

I don't know if he'll last in the long run; but I think he'll show up a few times

which is the best yet

he seems like a cool guy; I hope he joins up

but on the less important end of things

we do a cover of a song by the Libertines

and it's our best performance song

no matter how tired we are; we always rock that song

we play it about two or three times a practice

and usually during one of those we do something so insane that we impress the crap out of ourselves

as childish as that is

tonight was a new high, though

see, Ruben bought a new mic; and he sings backup on a few songs

but we unplugged it for the Libertines, since he didn't need to sing

so we get to this part where he could've sang; and since the PA was behind me, I turned around to plug the mic back in

but the cord wasn't long enough

so as I was turning back around, I accidentally stepped on my guitar cord and unplugged it

so I put my guitar down and just screamed the fuck out of the rest of the song

...I guess to compensate for the lack of guitar

it doesn't make as much sense now, looking at it typed out

but it sounded awesome

I held the last note longer than I thought was possible

I mean, if I thought any of you knew the song; I would explain it better

but I held that note a long fucking time

and I'm talking about me the asthmatic smoker screaming at the top of my lungs

God I wish someone besides Ruben was there to see it

you can always tell it's been a good practice when there's equipment[and/or band members] strewn all over the floor and the band can't feel various appendages

here's hoping Kurt[the drummer from above] can join in on the fun permanently

Adios Amigos