"Guitar And Video Games" 2004-03-21 - 5:48 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

interesting day

I got to hang out with basically all my friends today

went and hung out with Stephanie, Evan, and Robyn

we didn't do much but play Final Fantasy 7

oh well

then I left for a while to go see Ruben

see; a friend of his at work is friends with a band, and they needed a place to throw a show/surprise birthday party for one of their friends

so Ruben let them use the warehouse our practice room is in

and he invited me

so I drove all the way down there; and was pretty unimpressed

they sounded a lot like Sublime

meh

I left early

by the time I got back to Stephanie's it was pretty late; and she was about to go to sleep

so I had to leave

I should've just stayed there

after that I hung out with Robyn for a bit; and we yelled Chapelle's Show/Family Guy quotes at eachother

as usual

I really need to stop watching Chapelle's Show though, before I slip and call somebody 'nigga' and get my ass kicked

it's already got me ending all my sentences with 'bitch'

so I should be careful

but I have to say, as far as Robyn and I goes; the whole Croc vs. Shark thing has made this the Golden Age of Immaturity for us

it's wonderful

we do stupid things like end phone calls with "CROC IS GONNA WIN!" and hanging up really quick

and whenever there's a lull in the conversation we just start arguing with eachother about which one is going to win

and a multitude of other immature, idiotic things that are hilarious

I'm going to be really sad when it ends

other than that I've spent a lot of time playing Tony Hawk's Underground

I'm currently trying desperately hard to find the hidden level in Moscow

see; they included levels from Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2 in the game; but you have to find little icons hidden in certain levels to unlock them

I've found 2 out of 3

but the Moscow one is stumping the crap out of me

I've ran around every surface you can walk/grind on where they could possibly put the icon and it's just not there

it's pissing me off

but if you know where it is; don't tell me

I want to find it on my own

but I am accepting hints

anyway,

I'm really, really looking forward to the Goldeneye 2 videogame

Goldeneye was one of the best first-person-shooters for N64

and included a lot of revolutionary features

and now there's talk of a new one being made for PS2

it's too early for anything really technical; but the storyline is what's got me hooked

see; the original was based on the movie of the same name

but the sequel features this weird storyline that has nothing to do with the Bond universe of books/movies/games in any way

rather than playing as James Bond;

apparently you play as "an aspiring 00-agent" who quits or is fired or... something

and then goes to work for Goldfinger(the villain from that Bond movie)

he gives you a golden eye that can be upgraded with all kinds of nifty features

and you combat the forces of Goldfinger's arch-nemesis Dr. No(again, the villain from his self-titled movie)

now, Goldfinger and Dr. No both died at the ends of their movies; and had no interaction with eachother

and apparently the game contains a bunch of other villainous characters that had no connection to the two, and also died in their respective movies

so that's why it's intriguing

but for some reason the prospect of playing a villainous rogue agent has just enchanted me

even if you probably do just get iced by James Bond at the end of the game

the only other time I can think of that I've been this excited for a game was when Silent Hill 3 was coming out

and I'm not even this excited for Silent Hill 4

admittedly; I only heard those details of the game about 2 days ago

but for those 2 days, I've been thinking about it almost constantly

I don't know why

but on to more serious things;

I haven't heard back from that asshole potential drummer who stood us up yesterday

but another guy e-mailed Ruben today; and he's going to meet us tomorrow

he said he shares a lot of influences with us,

so again my hopes are unrealistically high

the thing is my cousin's having a birthday party tomorrow

and I didn't find out 'til this morning[his actual birthday isn't until tuesday]

so Ruben set up the meeting for 7 before I knew what was going on

and my cousin's birthday party is at 6:30

so I'm not going to be able to meet the drummer until 8:30

so I won't know what's going on until I get there

it's a little worrisome

I don't know

speaking of music, I wrote another song today

got over my "creative slump" I guess

I'm pretty proud of the lyrics so I'm going to post them

the music is quite a bit darker than they are; but whatever, I'm still proud of them,

it's called "Laugh Riot":

Johnny heard the Sex Pistols and knew what he had to do

he bought a leather jacket and he dyed all his hair blue

he started up a punk band to make everyone see

he would start a riot like he saw on MTV

it's a laugh riot, come on down

all the little punks are taking the town

it's a laugh riot, come on out

all the little punks will scream and shout

it's a laugh riot, on the scene

so they can tell the world just what "punk" means

it's a laugh riot, come and see

MTV-brand anarchy

Johnny pierced his nipples, his ears, and his nose

Johnny bought all new punk Hot Topic clothes

he's gonna show the world that he will not conform

in his stylish, all new "true punk" uniform

it's a laugh riot, come on down

all the little punks are taking the town

it's a laugh riot, come on out

all the little punks will scream and shout

it's a laugh riot, on the scene

so they can tell the world just what "punk" means

it's a laugh riot, come and see

MTV-brand anarchy

purple hair and ripped up jeans

spikes and chains and nipple rings

studded collars, safety pins

patched up jackets, Doc Martins

buy all these so you can be

a harbinger of anarchy

convictions are irrelevant

all you need is fashion sense

it's a laugh riot, come on down

all the little punks are taking the town

it's a laugh riot, come on out

all the little punks will scream and shout

it's a laugh riot, on the scene

so they can tell the world just what "punk" means

it's a laugh riot, come and see

MTV-brand anarchy

-Laugh Riot

The Remaining

I'm probably going to end up tweaking a few lines

[I actually edited this entry to tweak it already]

but I'm confident in this one

what do you think?

I'm sure I'll have something interesting to say tomorrow...

Sweet Dreams