"Been Swank" 2004-03-17 - 3:47 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was nowhere near as bad as I thought it would be

who'da thought things would seem worse than they are when you're depressed?

anyway,

I woke up early

got the "apply for jobs" thing done

it won't matter

hung out with Robyn most of the day

there's one memory that's particularly hilarious

we went to this school playground to hang out

because we had nothing else to do

and I tried to run up this slide, but it turns out it wasn't a standard solid-plastic slide

it was this weird thing with all these rolling bars

but I didn't realize it until I was already jumping onto it

I made it 3/4 of the way up before I slipped

and so I'm sliding down this bumpy-ass slide

and I was trying to hold on, jamming my fingers between the little bars to try and pull myself up

but that just made me slide down slower

it was hilariously painful

but what sucked about today was that I caught a fucking cold

I went to practice anyway; I figured my vocals would suck because my nose was all stuffed up and runny

but oddly enough my vocals were just fine

but my concentration was all off because of the fucking cold

so I was forgetting lyrics and missing musical changes in the songs

not real bad, though

oddly enough, I think Ruben had his best practice ever

I think he only screwed up on one song

and another song that we'd been working on; that he had trouble getting before

he nailed it on the first try

it's really impressive

he's a very decent bassist

he can play the songs, it just takes him longer than it should to get them

it pisses me off sometimes; because we're working on this one cover

and he just can't get it

but I picked up the bass and nailed it on the first try

never even tried playing the song on bass before

that really isn't that relevant; I've just been wanting to mention it

but anyway,

tonight he got all the songs perfect

it was very impressive

I don't know

I'm too sick and tired to wax poetic about my life on a grand scale

or worry about my future job concerns

I just wanted to mention those things

I apologize for wasting your time

Sweet Dreams