"Hunting Humans" 2004-03-14 - 3:58 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I'm feeling kinda down tonight

mostly just lonely

partly dissapointed in the utter lack of direction in my life

I just figured I'd know what I was doing by now

hell, I figured I'd be doing it by now

I guess I'm a failure to myself too

I miss her

I know I say it over and over; but that doesn't make it any less true

I met Erika today

it went really well

she's an Alice in Chains fan as well

but she's also 31 and married with children

I'm going to sleep on it before I say anything;

but I think that's just a little too much of an age difference

orginally I was like: "it's not like I'm trying to date her or something"

but the more I think about it the weirder it seems

so I don't know

at least I can say I tried

right dad?

sorry; I'm coming real close to spewing out all the real problems that fuck with me every day

but I'm not in high school anymore

and this little box isn't a therapist; no matter how much I want it to be

I don't know

in shallow news

the new Dawn of the Dead remake is pissing me off so much I fear I may end up hurting myself or others

I just can't imagine what the logic was behind deciding to remake that

"well, 28 Days Later was a smashing success; let's make a zombie movie to see if people will go see that too"

"no, wait, instead of doing that; let's just___"

and I seriously cannot complete that one because I can't imagine what the fuck anyone could be thinking there

when they "remake" a movie; they alter it quite a bit

and if you're going to do that; why not just MAKE AN ORIGINAL FUCKING ZOMBIE MOVIE!!

the original Dawn of the Dead is one of my favorite movies of all time

it's one of the most brilliant zombie movies ever made

and now it will forever have this remake marring its good name

it seriously makes me want to kill

why couldn't they just come up with an original idea?

just from what I've seen in the commercials I can tell they've altered the movie quite a bit

and if you're willing to go that far why not just give it an original name?

why slap the name of an older movie onto it?

it pisses me off so bad it hurts

and it doesn't help that I abhorr the new "fast zombie" concept

it stems from 28 Days Later

now; I can forgive it in 28 Days Later

because in that; the zombies were zombies in the old sense:

brain-dead people

so it makes sense that they'd be able to run and jump and shit; since their bodies still worked, it was just their minds that were gone

but Romero-zombies aren't supposed to move fast

they're nothing but animated corpses

the walking dead do not run

they're fighting decay and rigor mortis

their hearts are not beating

THEY DO NOT FUCKING RUN!

gah

I love movies

love love love love love movies

and horror movies are my favorite type of movies

and in that genre; zombie movies are my absolute favorite

so how come every big zombie movie they've made in the last ten years (with the exception of 28 Days Later) has had to suck so bad?

admittedly, there's only been three I can think of off the top of my head

but all of them drive me into violent rages at the mere thought of them

and I just know Resident Evil: Apocolypse is going to be a crime against humanity as well

fuck Hollywood,

seriously

it's that kind of money-driven mistreatment of movie concepts that's given me such a 'meh' attitude about my former ambition of going to film school

and lead me to believe that LA is the worst city in the world

heh

well that's the nice thing about bitching about movies,

it takes my mind off of whatever I'm depressed about when I start writing

Sweet Dreams