"Things That Piss Me Off" 2004-03-12 - 4:10 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

so yeah, not much happening

in an addendum to my last entry:

I realized that Nick Zinner looks disturbingly like Rick Ocasek of the Cars.

except hot

make of that what you will

anyway,

Erika e-mailed me back about starting a metal band

but then I didn't e-mail her back for three days because after the Yeah Yeah Yeahs show I was happy to be playing punk and didn't care about anything else

but I finally e-mailed her back earlier today

so we'll see how that goes

as far as job hunting goes

Stephanie is going to get me a job at Honeybaked Ham

it's only for four days around Easter so I'm pretty indifferent

it's only four days

but it's also a paycheck[albeit a small one] and more experience for future job applications

and plus there's always the insanely small chance I'll get kept on after seasonal employment like Stephanie did

but watch; with my shit-luck I'll wind up getting violently sick on one of the four measly days I'm supposed to work

who knows?

there was something else I wanted to bitch about

but I don't want to because it'll make me sound like even more of an asshole

so instead I'll bitch about gay marriage

they took away San Fransisco's short-lived ability to grant gay marriages

and a number of states have come out backing the proposed constitutional amendment that would ban gay marriage

including Arizona

fuck that

it's such an insane amount of bullshit

it's bigotry and discrimination in its purest form; and the exact opposite of what this country was [supposedly]founded for

that amendment should be altered with stipulations that if it gets passed; the politicians who supported it should wear white hoods all the time

like how in Canada they still wear robes and wigs

and also the pledge of allegiance should be changed to say: "...and liberty and justice for some"

it just pisses me off so bad

but I'm not real worried because I know if it does get passed it'll just get repealed within a few years

like the Prohibition amendment

because an amendment like that would be, as I said, exactly the opposite of what this country stands for;

and if America doesn't evolve enough to see an amendment like that for what it is; then the country will simply implode

a culture cannot simply stand still; and so that amendment can't last

it's that simple

gah

I don't know

I don't know why I'm saying all this in here

I'm sure that most if not all of the people who read my diary[all four of you] agree with me;

but it just pisses me off

and if I hear "the bible says homosexuality is a sin" one more fucking time...

I'm gonna start burning down churches like fucking firewood

the bible also says you can stone your son for being lazy and sell your daughter into slavery

and since when is America a fucking theocracy?

seperation of church and state is a pretty important part of our constitution

alright; I'm getting really pissed now

I need to stop

the only other thing I have to talk about is movies that are coming out;

and that would wind up with me being pissed off too

fuck it

there's quite a few good-looking movies coming out

first is "Secret Window" starring Johnny Depp

now, there's a funny story about that movie for me

see, one day I was checking out a short-story book by Stephen King["Four Past Midnight"] from the library;

and my sister brought home an issue of our high-school newspaper because it had an article on Johnny Depp

and she knows I like Johnny Depp too

[but she doesn't know how much]

so she showed it to me

and so I read that he was going to be starring in a movie adaptation of the Stephen King short story "Secret Window, Secret Garden";

while I had the short-story-collection book with that story in it on my lap

it was a pretty funny coincidence before I tried to explain it

anyway

it was a really good story; it kept me guessing the whole way through

every time I thought I had it figured out; something new would happen that would make my current theory obsolete

so I can't wait to see how they do it acted out

but what's puzzled me a little, is that they haven't mentioned the fact that it's based on a Stephen King story at all

I mean, if I hadn't read the story I'd have no idea

I wonder why

but anyway;

other movies I want to go see are Hellboy and the Punisher

I have to admit that I never read Hellboy; but I intend to start

it looks interesting

but the Punisher movie makes me a little nervous; because it shows his family getting gunned down on a dock

while in the comics it happened while they were on a picnic in the park

not a gigantic change;

but it makes me nervous nonetheless

and the reason this topic would piss me off; is because the reason I'm so nervous about these is the absolute butchering some comics are receiving in order to become movies

the absolute worst being Hellblazer

now, I never read Hellblazer either; but I know a bit about it

and it has an absolutely brilliant concept

I've been meaning to start reading it for a while

but since I'm short on cash; comics are pretty low on my "to buy" list

and so...

but moving on;

the first change they made was changing the name to "Constantine" so that it wouldn't be confused with the "Hellraiser" movies

now, I can understand that

I wouldn't've done it because I'm a stubborn purist bastard

but I can understand it

then; they cast Keaunu Reaves in the role of John Constantine

God, why?

I mean, all I've really seen of John Constantine was his one-issue appearance in the Sandman

but even from that I can tell that Keanu Reaves has no fucking business playing John Constantine

the Wachowski brothers should be beaten to death with chair legs for fooling everyone into thinking Keanu could act

he can't

and he has no Goddamn business playing someone as cool as John Constantine

and they've also changed it so that Constantine is Amurrican instead of British

probably because a british accent was too big of a stretch for Keanu to pull off

that's a pretty major change

and it pisses me off that they're butchering comics like that just to crank out movies to cash in on the craze created by X-Men and Spiderman

they just better stay the fuck away from Sandman

if they make a Sandman movie and anyone besides either myself or Neil Gaiman are directing it;

I will be honor bound to murder everyone involved

unless of course it turns out to be good

but the odds of that happening are slim to nil

*sigh*

well at least I'm not violently pissed off anymore

I should go to bed

Sweet Dreams