"Rick James Day" 2004-02-29 - 3:56 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was so much fun

Robyn and I had the fucking time of our lives

we hung around quoting Chapelle's show at eachother; until we got to the thrift store

and there, something unspeakable happened

see, we were quoting the episode of Chapelle's show about Rick James over and over

and while Robyn was looking in the records at the thrift store; she found:

Rick James: Coldblooded

which not only had the title track; but the song 'Unity'

and if you've seen the Chapelle's show; you know why that's significant

so we purchased it and it was extra hilarious because when we were buying it, the checkout lady was like:

"oh, you like him? I'm a big fan"

and she talked about how much she liked Rick James and went to see him live while she was ringing us up

and I was just dying laughing inside

and then we left, and Robyn said the funniest thing I think I've ever heard

everything bad that happens when you laugh too hard,

crying, peeing yourself, swerving while driving, milk shooting out of your nose

it all happened to me

it's probably really lucky we didn't die

I'll attempt to repeat it here; but I know it'll lose some of its punch

and keep in mind that the upcoming racial slur is quoting Chapelle's show; and isn't intended against anyone,

so Robyn said:

"yeah, I was looking through the records, thinking that there probably wouldn't be anything there, and then I was knocked over, and God spoke to me, and he said:

'Robyn, thou shall haveth the Rick Jameseth record'

and I said: 'fuck yo' couch, nigga'"

and she just said it so deadpan

and the fact that she was saying it to God

I laughed so hard I probably ruptured something

"now that you mention it, I think I'm bleedin' inside my chest"

after that we went to the mall

and had tons of fun shopping for ties

then we went back to her house, and discovered; to our anger, that the Rick James record jacket contained a record that was not Rick James

I think it was because Robyn told God to fuck his couch

that still pisses me off

I was so happy that we found that record

motherfuckers

anyway

after that we hung out and listened to the Pixies

then we went to Burger King, where we went through the drive-through; and I actually ordered doing my impression of Dave Chapelle doing an impression of Rick James

but sadly, I was robbed of the opportunity to say: "I'm Rick James, bitch" and drive off

I had to pull around front because it was going to take them too long to fix a couple cheeseburgers

jerks

so that was my evening

which was such an amazing amount of fun that no description could ever do it justice

it was so Rick James oriented that today should be declared Rick James Day

in other news:

I found the internet radio again

and so far it's been working fine

which is just awesome

I love me some internet radio

and I've also written another song for the Remaining

I'm not posting the lyrics yet, sorry

but it's my first political song, so I'm anxious to see how it does once we actually start playing

and finally;

I finally got around to watching "The Man Who Fell To Earth" last night

if you don't remember, that's the old David Bowie movie I bought months ago,

and I have to say:

it's weird

the box made it sound like Ziggy Stardust without the rock and roll

but it's not, really

I think it was based on a novel that was

but the director had other ideas

I think it was his first actual movie, and he usually directed those weird, artsy, independent movies that are always spoofed on cartoons

I kept expecting a clown flipping pancakes to show up

the movie just seemed intent on telling you as little about the plot as humanly possible

and the amount of time that passed during the movie was uncertain

Tommy[David Bowie's character] and his wife didn't seem to age, and the time passing seemed like only months

but each time they showed his lawyer, he was years older

he went from about late 40's-early 50's at the beginning to late 60's-early 70's at the end

it was a good movie; it was just weird

the director's penchant for chaotic imagery and heavy "symbolism" and cavalier attitude towards plot was really the only downside

the whole time I was distracted at how attractive David Bowie was

of course, that may not have helped my attention to the plot

but whatever

It's Rick James Day, bitch!

Sweet Dreams